Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #91  
Old 24 Apr 2009, 03:47
Chadi's Avatar
Chadi Chadi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
NOTE: I'm creating a new mode for Shelfari called "My Shelfari Bookshelf". I reserve this idea, so please don't steal my idea

Having a hard time applying this for a new tab called "Shelfari" (shelfari.com)

The template is:

memberinfo_block_shelfari


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The plugin is:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Note, "chadi" in that Shelfari embed code I pasted at the end of the plugin is my actual Shelfari username. However, I created a user profile field called "My Shelfari Bookshelf", which is field44.

I tried replacing chadi with $userinfo[field44] and it did not pull correctly.

What is the actual proper replacement code to pull whatever content from the user's field44 profile field to replace my actual username?

Can some also please explain how to properly create a plugin file for this, so I can share it as a mod?
__________________
...............................
Talk Jesus Forums: Christian Chat
games . chat . gallery . bible . videos
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 24 Apr 2009, 03:55
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Chadi View Post
What is the actual proper replacement code to pull whatever content from the user's field44 profile field to replace my actual username?
Try $this->profile->userinfo['field44']
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 24 Apr 2009, 04:02
Chadi's Avatar
Chadi Chadi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Thanks, but the tab doesn't show up now.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
...............................
Talk Jesus Forums: Christian Chat
games . chat . gallery . bible . videos
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 24 Apr 2009, 04:08
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Try assigning it to a variable and then use the variable in that line of code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Something like that. You'll probably have to play with it a bit.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 24 Apr 2009, 04:15
Chadi's Avatar
Chadi Chadi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Sorry, but I really don't know what you're telling me here. I'm not a coder

Can you give me a hint by pasting what the entire plugin code should look like? It'll be easier for me to dissect it carefully from there.

--------------- Added 24 Apr 2009 at 04:17 ---------------

Ok, I tried this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

now, the output works except one more problem:

The actual widget is giving an error stating that a username was not provided and must be provided.

--------------- Added 24 Apr 2009 at 04:24 ---------------

Fixed. I had to had the = after UserName.

Thanks Lynne.

One quick question, I'd like to make an xml plugin file so people can install this as a product. Could I trouble you to explain how this can be done?
__________________
...............................
Talk Jesus Forums: Christian Chat
games . chat . gallery . bible . videos

Last edited by Chadi; 24 Apr 2009 at 04:24. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 24 Apr 2009, 15:16
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Chadi View Post
One quick question, I'd like to make an xml plugin file so people can install this as a product. Could I trouble you to explain how this can be done?
Looks like you already figured that out since I saw you released your mod.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 24 Apr 2009, 15:33
Chadi's Avatar
Chadi Chadi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Yes, and gave you and Wired1 credit for the help.

Thank you Lynne, appreciate it.

PS: would you like me to make you co-author of the mod? I'm honestly not sure how these things work on the forums. I've only started releasing mods a couple days ago. I'm not even a programmer.
__________________
...............................
Talk Jesus Forums: Christian Chat
games . chat . gallery . bible . videos
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 24 Apr 2009, 16:41
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Chadi View Post
PS: would you like me to make you co-author of the mod? I'm honestly not sure how these things work on the forums. I've only started releasing mods a couple days ago. I'm not even a programmer.
No, no. I am here just to help out. I really don't know what the co-author thing is for, but just giving you a couple pointers doesn't make me a co-author. You did all the hard work.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 29 Apr 2009, 22:52
H3C x Nevz H3C x Nevz is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Okay, I've installed this properly, and I need a somewhat specific request:

-- Search for all threads started by user, in forumID 12 and all child boards -- [USERNAME]'s Posted Content -- End Link --

Sorry, I really don't know a lot about using variables...

Last edited by H3C x Nevz; 29 Apr 2009 at 23:07.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 07 May 2009, 08:42
harmor19 harmor19 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Andrew Harmor
If you want to know how to pull HTML from a template rather than writing the HTML in the plugin take a look at what I've wrote.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 08 May 2009, 14:35
harmor19 harmor19 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Andrew Harmor
I'm not sure as I haven't tried but the code below might work if you don't want to loop data.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 01 Jul 2009, 04:20
edytwinky edytwinky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I'm trying to get this information to show but for some reason it keeps bringing errors. Any ideas?

Currently my plugin is the default:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And i'm trying to get the following code in:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I put the new code in the 'coming soon' section and all it showed in the new tab was the text $vbphrase[my_nbateam]:
It did not show the image whatsoever.

--------------- Added 02 Jul 2009 at 00:15 ---------------

I've been toying around with every single combination of codes and it keeps only bringing up the text of the coding or error message.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by edytwinky; 02 Jul 2009 at 00:15. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 19 Aug 2009, 09:03
euantor euantor is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Real name: Euan
Does this work with VBulletin 3.8.4? I've tried it, but I can't get the tab I'm trying to add to display.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 19 Aug 2009, 15:19
ragtek's Avatar
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
Yes it should work, nothing changed here.

What's the code you're using?
__________________
my addons: http://ragtek.github.com
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 20 Aug 2009, 08:25
euantor euantor is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Real name: Euan
The code in the first two boxes. I believe I've done it all correctly, but it doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Article
Article Author Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Flipped tabs = Swivel tabs = INVERTED TABS Deepdog009 vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 29 20 Jan 2010 09:39



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: