Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Additional navbar with dropdowns Details »
Additional navbar with dropdowns
Mod Version: 1.02, by attroll (Coder/Designer) attroll is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.5 Rating: (26 votes - 4.69 average) Installs: 305
Released: 26 Dec 2007 Last Update: 30 Jun 2008 Downloads: 1707
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

After upgrading and supporting my 3.0.0 and 3.5.3 version of this hack, I have decided it was time to step into the plugin world to make this easier for people to use.

Despite what category this is in it works with vBulletin 3.0 up to the most recent version of 3.8.

What this does is create another navbar with drop down menus by typing $navbar2 in any of your templates. It is just like the navbar that comes with VB.

I put a lot of description tags in the navbar2 template that gets installed to help explain what everything does. Once you understand what is going on here you can removed these. With very little modifications you can add to, remove or move items around in this additional navbar.

Upgrade
To upgrade you will want to reimport this XML file and edit your options accordingly.



1.02
  • Tweak it a bit to get the border on the top of the navbar. There was not boarder on the top of the navbar in the previous version. It was not really noticeable unless you have the navbar directly below the header area.
1.01
  • removed the plugin with the Hook "parse_templates" because it was not need.
  • Added plugin with the Hook “global_start”, this will work with, PhotoPlog, vBAdvanced, Arcade. This will alleviate having to manually add code in the php files as was required in the past.
1.00
  • Initial release.
To install the this
1. Download the zipped file.

2. Unzip the file.

3. Import the product-navbar2.xml into your Plugins & Productsŕ Manage Plugins.

4. Next you will have to decide where you want the navbar2 to be displayed. I have included a few options below.

5A. Under current (original) Navigation bar:
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that place:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5B. On top of forums tables:
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that place:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5C. Top of current navbar:
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Above that add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5D. Under your header:
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5E. Under VB navbar:
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Note:
This should now work with vBAdvance CMPS, Arcade, PhotoPlog with no other modifications. Many thanks to Mike-D for his help with this.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	5A.jpg
Views:	5467
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	73782   Click image for larger version

Name:	5B.jpg
Views:	3171
Size:	66.0 KB
ID:	73783   Click image for larger version

Name:	5C.jpg
Views:	2572
Size:	66.6 KB
ID:	73784   Click image for larger version

Name:	5d.jpg
Views:	2988
Size:	65.2 KB
ID:	73785  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Additional Navbar 3.5.3 and up attroll vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications 91 26 Dec 2007 01:12
Additional Navbar attroll vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 235 24 Feb 2006 03:51

  #16  
Old 15 Jan 2008, 02:18
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by edytwinky View Post
Do I put this in my navbar template?

If so I did that and it's appearing below my main navbar but then the advanced search box appears right underneath that.
Yes in the navbar template.

I don't understand what you mean by the advanced search box appearing right under that.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 15 Jan 2008, 03:08
edytwinky edytwinky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Here's what i mean:



There's a space between the two navbars and then the search thing is below that.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15 Jan 2008, 06:32
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by edytwinky View Post
Here's what i mean:



There's a space between the two navbars and then the search thing is below that.
Something is not right in you navbar2 template I think. Send me a PM and I will send you my email so you can send me your navbar2 template and I will have a look.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 17 Jan 2008, 09:05
s3nt3nc3d s3nt3nc3d is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Edited: I am an idiot and have fixed my issue. Thanks for this little hack. I've been trying to get my custom drop-downs working for over a week and this finally helped me accomplish that.

Last edited by s3nt3nc3d; 17 Jan 2008 at 09:21. Reason: I am a moron.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19 Jan 2008, 22:38
accessdeniedzzz accessdeniedzzz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
where can i edit the links ?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 20 Jan 2008, 01:07
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
In the navbar2 template that is in you navbar templates.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 26 Jan 2008, 04:03
vnairp11 vnairp11 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Thanks a lot for this mod ur da man!

here is a tip!

add this before all the codes in navbar2 template

<if condition="!$show['guest']">



blah blah cod code code


add this at the end of all the codes in navbar 2 template

</if>

what it does: displays the navbar to registered users only.
__________________
All Pet enthusiasts welcome!
www.PitBullmixed.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 29 Jan 2008, 17:49
Leo Brazil's Avatar
Leo Brazil Leo Brazil is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I was cheking all the posts including the the thread for the last version and I couldn't see any screenshoots or any comments about how to set the new Navbar links and names.

Sorry if this may sound stupid, I'm just a newbie...I know...But your mod seems to be great, you've been done a great support in all of your threads, I just want to be sure I'll be able to do it, you know...

Is this version compatible with 3.6.8 ? Or better to go for the last version ?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 29 Jan 2008, 18:25
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Yes this version will work with 3.6.8.

To change the template and add more links to this navbar you need to do that in your templates in admin for the template "navbar2".
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03 Feb 2008, 05:24
:Judge:'s Avatar
:Judge: :Judge: is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Real name: Judge
Originally Posted by Pehchaan View Post
I can't install the product, getting this vb message:

XML Error: XML_WAR_UNKNOWN_VERSION at Line 117
For this error just replace.. (first line of code in the XML file.)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with this here..

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Simple error
__________________
Cecil County, Maryland

Last edited by :Judge:; 03 Feb 2008 at 09:33.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06 Feb 2008, 12:30
Leo Brazil's Avatar
Leo Brazil Leo Brazil is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by attroll View Post
Yes this version will work with 3.6.8.

To change the template and add more links to this navbar you need to do that in your templates in admin for the template "navbar2".
Just to give you and others here a feedback. It does work great for 3.6.8.
Easy to install and deal with the tamplate for navbar2. There's a lot of comments there to help newbies like me to deal with.
Just perfect, MOTM for sure.

Just one thing ? How about a third navbar ?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06 Feb 2008, 13:50
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by Leo Brazil View Post
Just to give you and others here a feedback. It does work great for 3.6.8.
Easy to install and deal with the tamplate for navbar2. There's a lot of comments there to help newbies like me to deal with.
Just perfect, MOTM for sure.

Just one thing ? How about a third navbar ?
A third navbar. Are you serious? This could be done but I can not see where anyone would want a third navbar.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06 Feb 2008, 20:39
Leo Brazil's Avatar
Leo Brazil Leo Brazil is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by attroll View Post
A third navbar. Are you serious? This could be done but I can not see where anyone would want a third navbar.
...lol...I knew you're gonna say that.....but I'm serious.....May be it would look better as a vertical bar at left or right. My forum deals with so many things that Navbars like that would be a good idea to lead people faster to what they want.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07 Feb 2008, 04:38
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by Leo Brazil View Post
...lol...I knew you're gonna say that.....but I'm serious.....May be it would look better as a vertical bar at left or right. My forum deals with so many things that Navbars like that would be a good idea to lead people faster to what they want.

Thanks.
Hmmm, I have been tossing around playing with a vertical navbar for this hack. I have one on one of my sites now but it is a totally seperate hack that I have tweaked a little more.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07 Feb 2008, 16:09
Leo Brazil's Avatar
Leo Brazil Leo Brazil is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
attroll, see that ? That's what I'm talking about....lol....
Hey, don't forget me whem you publish this hack here. The nwebie here will be pretty glad for sure.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:53.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: