Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
'Text to Speech' user posts Details »
'Text to Speech' user posts
Mod Version: 1.01, by C.Birch (Member) C.Birch is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.2 Rating: (4 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 64
Released: 22 Aug 2008 Last Update: 23 Aug 2008 Downloads: 266
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations External Content  

With this very easy mod you will be able to add 'Text to Speech' support to your forum posts so users may have a users post read out to them.

To install

In your 'postbit' and 'postbit_legacy' templates find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add below:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

-------------------------------------

In your headinclude template find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add above:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

--------------------------------------

Upload the added image to your images/misc/ folder
Attachment 85889

UPDATE: To have a smaller pop up window
Upload the JS from the zip below to your forums root folder and do the following edit

In your headinclude template find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thats all, A demo can be found at http://www.yourlsl.com/forums/

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Speech Emoticons Shelley_c Modification Graveyard 23 28 Aug 2006 19:52

  #46  
Old 24 Aug 2008, 04:56
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
I'm using it on IE and I'm not getting any problems.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 24 Aug 2008, 08:49
TimberFloorAu's Avatar
TimberFloorAu TimberFloorAu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Blue
Originally Posted by jamesf4218 View Post
Getting the same problem with IE - the error message and the page goes to not found. So doesn't really work. Can this be fixed?

I swear by FF but some users still use IE.

Id imagine its just some js conflict.

Will have a look at the code, and see if I can fix it myself Will post back
__________________

My Hacks [ click ] | Steve ~ Administrator for British Expats AustraliaBound.org/forum | Test our forum - user; don pass; pass123
Sports Tipping Mod - coming February 2010 ~ Show your Interest !
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 24 Aug 2008, 08:52
FreshFroot's Avatar
FreshFroot FreshFroot is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
this is an awesome idea. Nice work mate!
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 24 Aug 2008, 20:25
jamesf4218 jamesf4218 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Originally Posted by Digital Jedi View Post
I'm using it on IE and I'm not getting any problems.
I'm using IE 7 and it doesn't work.

Originally Posted by TimberFloorAu View Post
I swear by FF but some users still use IE.

Id imagine its just some js conflict.

Will have a look at the code, and see if I can fix it myself Will post back
Ok that's appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 24 Aug 2008, 20:28
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by jamesf4218 View Post
I'm using IE 7 and it doesn't work.



Ok that's appreciated.
Which version are you using? The one with local javascript or the one with the remote?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 24 Aug 2008, 21:05
jamesf4218 jamesf4218 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Originally Posted by Digital Jedi View Post
Which version are you using? The one with local javascript or the one with the remote?
I tried both. Neither worked.

JTF
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 24 Aug 2008, 22:36
TimberFloorAu's Avatar
TimberFloorAu TimberFloorAu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Blue
We are using the Local version DJ, because of the window size.

I have noticed additional lag, and I suspect this is the IE issue.

I will be reverting today.

Ste
__________________

My Hacks [ click ] | Steve ~ Administrator for British Expats AustraliaBound.org/forum | Test our forum - user; don pass; pass123
Sports Tipping Mod - coming February 2010 ~ Show your Interest !
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 24 Aug 2008, 22:43
TimberFloorAu's Avatar
TimberFloorAu TimberFloorAu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Blue
1. reverted to remote js version
2. windows unable to open destination window, but the pop up appears behind main forum page, close the alert box, and main forum page blanks out.

3. page lag, had disappeared since going from local to remote

4. I have done some more images for buttons ( please dont ask for any ) I havent got the time to do individual requests.
Attached Images
File Type: gif nominate_topic.gif (1.4 KB, 205 views)
File Type: gif post_spank.gif (1.6 KB, 205 views)
File Type: gif post_thanks.gif (1.6 KB, 206 views)
File Type: gif speak_en.gif (1.4 KB, 205 views)
File Type: gif speak_it.gif (1.4 KB, 206 views)
File Type: gif speak_sp.gif (1.5 KB, 206 views)
File Type: gif spanks.gif (1.6 KB, 207 views)
__________________

My Hacks [ click ] | Steve ~ Administrator for British Expats AustraliaBound.org/forum | Test our forum - user; don pass; pass123
Sports Tipping Mod - coming February 2010 ~ Show your Interest !
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 25 Aug 2008, 15:55
jamesf4218 jamesf4218 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
(Second edit)

I fixed it myself.

To make it work on IE just change:

<a href="javascript:void(0);"
onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','en','fm');">
<img src="images/misc/speech.png" alt="" width="123" height="37" border="0"
style="margin-right:0.4em;"/></a>
to

<img onclick="get_id('post_message_$post[postid]','en','fm');" src="images/misc/speech.png" alt="" width="123" height="37" border="0"
style="margin-right:0.4em;"/>
You should also make sure you wait until the page has fully downloaded before clicking the button.

Last edited by jamesf4218; 25 Aug 2008 at 17:59.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 25 Aug 2008, 18:59
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Oh, I see. I bet your forum was prepending javascript:void(0); with your forum address.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 26 Aug 2008, 16:31
191251gs 191251gs is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Hello first thank you for this modification!
I run a forum with people who have bad eyes to read.
Is there also a German translation ?
Thank you and friendly greetings.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 26 Aug 2008, 18:25
TheInsaneManiac TheInsaneManiac is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I would use it, but I used voz before and they are down a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 26 Aug 2008, 21:56
whitetigergrowl whitetigergrowl is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Marked as installed but waiting for a proper IE fix before fully installing.

Many also use VBSEO. Would this have any conflicts with that?
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 27 Aug 2008, 07:46
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by whitetigergrowl View Post
Marked as installed but waiting for a proper IE fix before fully installing.

Many also use VBSEO. Would this have any conflicts with that?
It's probably not an IE problem, but vB problem. Sometime vBulletin puts your board URL in front of Javascript links. Just change javascript:void(0); to # and there shouldn't be a problem.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 28 Aug 2008, 08:33
Hornstar's Avatar
Hornstar Hornstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Matt
This is really cool!

I would love to host a text to speech on my dedicated server. does anyone know of any software that would allow me to run something like this from my server?

Edit: I found this http://www.digitalfuturesoft.com/texttospeechserver.php
If I got that, would that work?

Last edited by Hornstar; 28 Aug 2008 at 08:57.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:20.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: