Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Add Google Chrome to the is_browser() function Details »
Add Google Chrome to the is_browser() function
Mod Version: 1.00, by Lea Verou (Member) Lea Verou is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.2 Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 24
Released: 04 Sep 2008 Last Update: Never Downloads: 6
Not Supported Code Changes Re-usable Code Translations  

About the is_browser() function

This modification will allow you to insert into templates code specific for Google Chrome (useful for correcting CSS issues that it has with box-shadow and opacity).

It obviously needs file edits, as there is no hook in there.

Should work for vB versions from 3.7.3 and below, although in very old versions, the code to find might slightly be different.

File: includes/functions.php

1. Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

add above:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

2. Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add below:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

3. Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 04 Sep 2008, 04:09
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
I think this will eventually be put into an official release, (hopes), but until then thank you for the tweak I will try to update my sites soon so chrome users can enjoy it to the fullest.
__________________
My community; http://wetalknation.net
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04 Sep 2008, 04:12
Merjawy's Avatar
Merjawy Merjawy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Thanks.. my site looked wierd.. things at the top were listed at the buttom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04 Sep 2008, 06:00
Michael Biddle Michael Biddle is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Anaheim, CA
Tagged for later. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04 Sep 2008, 13:33
nerofix's Avatar
nerofix nerofix is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
How to block chrome-browser users completly from accessing the site?
__________________
NeRoFiX.com - The vBulletin Web 2.0 community
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04 Sep 2008, 13:40
Barakat's Avatar
Barakat Barakat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Barakat
works nice .... thanks
__________________
مسلمـ من أمة محمد ...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04 Sep 2008, 15:04
Lea Verou Lea Verou is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: Lea Verou
Originally Posted by nerofix View Post
How to block chrome-browser users completly from accessing the site?
You could create a plugin with the code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and play a bit with the hooks (2 possible candidates are global_start and global_complete) as I can't think of the right one atm.

However, imho its an extremely bad idea to do such a thing. If you want to shut a browser out of your site, do it to IE6, you would benefit the web more :P
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04 Sep 2008, 19:49
sarum sarum is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
just what the doctor ordered thx
i love the new browser...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04 Sep 2008, 20:21
MrZeropage's Avatar
MrZeropage MrZeropage is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Marcel
Originally Posted by nerofix View Post
How to block chrome-browser users completly from accessing the site?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=190037

__________________
Get the most installed modification for your vBulletin (more than 8400 installations and 148.000 downloads!):
ibProArcade 2.7.6+ download here | Click here to enter the ibProArcade-Support-Section
Don't miss the new Google Analytics Integration (GDPR/DSGVO) for vB4.x
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07 Sep 2008, 12:10
FiMeTi FiMeTi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
thx man installed.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09 Sep 2008, 20:53
S@NL - BlackBik's Avatar
S@NL - BlackBik S@NL - BlackBik is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Real name: Rob Swart
Thanks!
Was allready searching for this
__________________
Resistance is futile......
S@NL - BlackBiker Namefield was a bit too short :laugh:
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09 Sep 2008, 23:32
VeeDubZ VeeDubZ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
top mod
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 06:59
TimberFloorAu's Avatar
TimberFloorAu TimberFloorAu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Blue
Installed: But have not noticed any difference with Opacity ( perhaps Chrome just doesnt linke Reflections )
__________________

My Hacks [ click ] | Steve ~ Administrator for British Expats AustraliaBound.org/forum | Test our forum - user; don pass; pass123
Sports Tipping Mod - coming February 2010 ~ Show your Interest !
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 07:22
Lea Verou Lea Verou is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: Lea Verou
Originally Posted by TimberFloorAu View Post
Installed: But have not noticed any difference with Opacity ( perhaps Chrome just doesnt linke Reflections )
What do you mean?
This mod just lets you detect Chrome, its not a fix for any particular issue with it, but rather something you'll definately need when making such a fix.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 20:33
TimberFloorAu's Avatar
TimberFloorAu TimberFloorAu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Blue
Originally Posted by Michelle View Post
What do you mean?
This mod just lets you detect Chrome, its not a fix for any particular issue with it, but rather something you'll definately need when making such a fix.
Your Initial Post:

This modification will allow you to insert into templates code specific for Google Chrome (useful for correcting CSS issues that it has with box-shadow and opacity).
__________________

My Hacks [ click ] | Steve ~ Administrator for British Expats AustraliaBound.org/forum | Test our forum - user; don pass; pass123
Sports Tipping Mod - coming February 2010 ~ Show your Interest !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:23.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: