Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Human Verification on Login Details »
Human Verification on Login
Mod Version: 0.9, by kh99 (Senior Member) kh99 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (6 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 28
Released: 19 Mar 2015 Last Update: Never Downloads: 152
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Re-usable Code Translations  

What is it?
----------------------------
This mod adds human verification to login, after a selectable number of failures (strikes).


Why would I want this? Users will hate it.
----------------------------
The idea is that attempts at account hacking by guessing passwords will fail if they are automated and not expecting the HV input. This will reduce the number of guesses per lockout period, and also since an incorrect or missing HV response does not count as a strike, your users will not get "lockout" emails. You can configure the mod so that HV input isn't required until a certain number of failures, so most of the time users won't even notice. Also, many users probably use "Remember Me" and so will never notice.


Note: This hasn't been tested with Forum Runner, Tapatalk, or anything similar. The mod attempts to disable itself for Forum Runner and Tapatalk, but this hasn't been tested. If you install this mod and you use one those on your forum, you should test it (for example, try logging in with incorrect password 4 times and make sure it works if you enter the correct password the 5th time). Also, I will appreciate any reports of problems or success.

Thanks to woodmj for ideas and testing.

Installation:
----------------------------
1) Import the product XML file from the Product Manager.

2) Go to Settings > Human Verification Options (in the options, not the human verification manager) to enable and configure.

You can select a different type of HV than you are using for other actions. For example, you might use some type of captcha for registration, but use Q&A for login. Note that you still have to use the Human Verification Manager to configure each type. So if you want to use Q&A for login, you would have to temporarily select it in the HV Manager to configure your questions. You can then re-select a different HV type for other actions if desired.

3) Test the mod in each of your styles. There is a field in the options for an ip address, and if this is filled in, the HV will only be active for that ip address, allowing testing without affecting other users. You can then clear the field when you are done testing.

Testing each style is important because the mod attempts to insert the HV template automatically, but if it can't (if you have custom styles for example) the mod will still be expecting the HV answer to be submitted, which will result in login failures. If this happens, the mod can still be used by manually editing the STANDARD_ERROR and mobile_login templates and inserting {vb:raw kh99_login_hv} after the password field.


History:
----------------------------
0.9 (Mar 19, 2015)
  • Initial Release

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sg1.GIF
Views:	235
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	152111   Click image for larger version

Name:	sg2.jpg
Views:	431
Size:	98.8 KB
ID:	152115  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 25 Mar 2015, 16:32
woodmj woodmj is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
The style just stopped working. Not sure why. My board can be pretty flaky though.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25 Mar 2015, 16:35
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by woodmj View Post
The style just stopped working. Not sure why. My board can be pretty flaky though.
Well, does it work when this mod is disable, then stop working when you enable it? If so then there's some problem with this mod that I can try to figure out.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26 Mar 2015, 09:56
woodmj woodmj is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
@kh99 - Sorry for creating any confusion. It turned out the issue I had with my custom theme was related to VBOptimise. Once I had cleared it's cache all was fine and your mod worked fine.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26 Mar 2015, 10:07
madness85 madness85 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
OK, I'll look in to it. It's probably something I didn't consider. So when you say it's closed to the public, what do you mean exactly? That all forums are set so that they're not visible to guests?

What do you have the stirkes set to? I guess 0 if you want to see it the first time?

Also, what do you mean about the admincp, is it when you go directly to the admincp and you're not logged in at all yet?
Hi buddy could my issues be fixed by simple template edit or is it going to be more complicated than that?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26 Mar 2015, 11:04
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by madness85 View Post
Hi buddy could my issues be fixed by simple template edit or is it going to be more complicated than that?
I've actually fixed one of those issues, but it's the admincp that I'm still trying to work out. It doesn't use templates so I can't add the human verification the same way. But I think I can make it redirect to the other login page, I just haven't had a chance to try it yet.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 26 Mar 2015, 12:37
madness85 madness85 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
I've actually fixed one of those issues, but it's the admincp that I'm still trying to work out. It doesn't use templates so I can't add the human verification the same way. But I think I can make it redirect to the other login page, I just haven't had a chance to try it yet.
I see buddy. Will keep an eye on this thread and thank you
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10 Jul 2015, 08:10
bryanb's Avatar
bryanb bryanb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
For whatever reason, this mod stopped working. I upgraded to vBulletin 4.2.3 a few days ago, then installed this mod - it was working fine. It was stopping these bots that have been trying to log into members' accounts. Until this morning, it just stopped working.

Recaptcha is used on the site - and it appears when registering, but for some reason it has stopped appearing on the log in page. I haven't made any changes. I've reloaded the plugin but no joy. Any ideas?
__________________
"Master of my domain"
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10 Jul 2015, 08:17
woodmj woodmj is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
I thought this might be the case as I started to get complaints from members again after my 4.2.3 upgrade.


@kh99 - Any thoughts? Feel free to PM me if you'd like me to help you test anything again.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10 Jul 2015, 08:30
bryanb's Avatar
bryanb bryanb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
I'm an idiot. I realized that I had my IP listed in "Limit to IP Address" and removed that. I also changed the verification from recaptcha to "question and answer" and it works fine. Recaptcha works fine as well.

I don't think it's an upgrade issue, at least not with me.
__________________
"Master of my domain"
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10 Jul 2015, 11:34
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by woodmj View Post
I thought this might be the case as I started to get complaints from members again after my 4.2.3 upgrade.


@kh99 - Any thoughts? Feel free to PM me if you'd like me to help you test anything again.
Well, I just tried it with vb4.2.3 and php5.4, and it works for me. Did you try it yourself? What verison of php are you running?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12 Jul 2015, 09:23
ennio37 ennio37 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
hello

Well, I put this mod because I I display the CAPTCHA, Image Verification, Verification Question & Answer, and no less so I do not see anything at registration

thanks

sorry for my english
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12 Jul 2015, 11:40
woodmj woodmj is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
Well, I just tried it with vb4.2.3 and php5.4, and it works for me. Did you try it yourself? What verison of php are you running?
Apologies, it was working for me also.

I too somehow had the HV method set to Captcha which isn't very effective so I set it back to Q&A as I use with registrations. Hopefully that should take care of things.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12 Jul 2015, 11:46
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by woodmj View Post
Apologies, it was working for me also.

I too somehow had the HV method set to Captcha which isn't very effective so I set it back to Q&A as I use with registrations. Hopefully that should take care of things.
Hmm...I think it should work with any HV selection. When you say Captcha, which one do you mean, the built-in reCAPTCHA or Images, or do you have another captcha mod?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 19 Jul 2015, 23:53
boggseric's Avatar
boggseric boggseric is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Tested with tapatalk on my forum and it worked perfectly. I hope this stops those emails to users they have become a really big problem.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 20 Jul 2015, 03:43
KGodel's Avatar
KGodel KGodel is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Real name: James
Nice work man!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: