Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #46  
Old 16 Jun 2002, 21:10
FWC's Avatar
FWC FWC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally posted by Velocd


1. *dies* That is the same point Firefly brought up. You see, you cannot use an SSH client like Putty to backup your forums installed on a localhost, like my pc. It wont connect for purposes that are probably logical--one being it is my pc and making a connection through putty to the very computer you type on seems silly. Still, I need a way to make a reliable backup so that when I finish with my forums on my computer I can transfer the backup to my webserver.
If you want to backup or restore databases on your home pc you can enter the same commands you would in an SSH client from the DOS command line. Navigate to your mysql directory and you can run them from there.
__________________
FWC
F5 Hosting
White Sox Interactive Forums
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 16 Jun 2002, 22:29
Velocd's Avatar
Velocd Velocd is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Mike
Thanks for the help, that worked perfectly
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 17 Jun 2002, 00:46
FWC's Avatar
FWC FWC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally posted by Velocd
Thanks for the help, that worked perfectly
Glad it worked for you.
__________________
FWC
F5 Hosting
White Sox Interactive Forums
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 18 Jun 2002, 22:35
Velocd's Avatar
Velocd Velocd is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Mike
Quick Tutorial - How to backup/restore on a localhost

I thought I would make this because I fought alittle trying to get this working using the MSDOS shell, and found some things to be alittle different than from what backing up is usually like.
Once again, thanks to FWC for the tip, and also Logican from another post providing me some info

(note: done using Windows XP, should work on older OS also)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Copy and paste the following into your address bar, then hit enter: %SystemRoot%\system32\cmd.exe

2. Now depending on how you installed MySQL on your system, either with or without PHPTriad, you need to browse to that directory bin folder.

For example, if you did use PHPTriad, type cd c:\apache\mysql\bin.


3. For BACKING UP:

Type mysqldump -u username --opt database_name > backupfile.sql, filling in username and database_name with the correct values.

This method worked perfectly for me using the PHPTriad installation, should do the same with the other. If it asks you for a password, enter the password.


4. For RESTORING:

Type -u root -ppassword database_name < backupfile.sql in the command prompt.

You might get an error saying a table already exists, if so you need to clear your current database. Go into phpmyadmin and drop it that way. Be sure not to drop the whole database eliminating it, but just dropping the tables. Before doing this check your database backup you just created to make sure it actually created its and is not corrupt.

Thats it!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 19 Jun 2002, 05:31
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
good tutorial..
i will add it in the first post, if you dont mind.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 19 Jun 2002, 15:37
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
apache 2.0.39 released. i updated the link.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 20 Jun 2002, 00:24
Velocd's Avatar
Velocd Velocd is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Mike
Originally posted by nakkid
good tutorial..
i will add it in the first post, if you dont mind.
np ^_^

Originally posted by nakkid
apache 2.0.39 released. i updated the link.
Hmm..what changes can we expect in this apache from its previous versions Nakkid?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 20 Jun 2002, 03:32
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
they fixed a security bug in the routines which deal with invalid requests and also fixed some syntax code errors, like the korean language for example... and some extra misspells (araxis merge compariason). nothing that would affect us locally. the security bug was always present until 2.0.36. aparently they fix it in 2.0.39, but created another one related to php apache SAPI module.

i updated some useful info related to the current conflict between php and apache, here.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 20 Jun 2002, 18:35
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
i got it working guys with php421 and apache 2.0.39.
the fix is on the first post.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 21 Jun 2002, 22:43
DestyNova DestyNova is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Great, many thanks for this excellent tutorial =)

I been use Kevin Yank's book instruction to set up these apache and PHP but yours are much more detail and clear (also up to date instruction). Again many thanks! I m going to set it up right away
__________________
Civilization did not create war.
War created Civilization.
English is not my first language. Please excuse my sloppy english
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 22 Jun 2002, 21:57
DestyNova DestyNova is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Nakkid

Can I have your permission to copy/paste these at my forum when it is ready and up? I dont know if non-license can post here if they want to comment or add etc.. Of course I ll credit you and non-modifity instructions. Thanks =) It is most simply and clear instruction on installing these server, I feel that it is more benefit for my members and friends than other instructions hover around thur internet.

-edit- forget to add, installion processing is perfect and error-free. Thanks!
__________________
Civilization did not create war.
War created Civilization.
English is not my first language. Please excuse my sloppy english
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 22 Jun 2002, 22:25
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
non licensed people can post here... tell them to buy vB.
i would prefer to place a link here.

btw, what's the url for your forums?
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog

Last edited by TECK; 22 Jun 2002 at 22:34.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 22 Jun 2002, 22:49
DestyNova DestyNova is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Ok, I ll link to this forum then add thread so that they can comment or Q&A at my forum, thanks.

Certainly, I PM you about that but it is closed off due to editing and add, this vbulletin.org has tons of nice features, so it will take some while to edit and add etc.. =)
__________________
Civilization did not create war.
War created Civilization.
English is not my first language. Please excuse my sloppy english
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 22 Jun 2002, 23:23
DestyNova DestyNova is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Re: Tutorial: How to run vBulletin onto your PC

Originally posted by Nakkid
RESTORE PROCEDURE
This is useful if you want to import onto your localhost the live forum database.

01. Right-click on the C:\Network\MySQL\bin folder and select 'Open Command Window Here'.

02. At the prompt, type:
mysql -uUSERNAME -pPASSWORD DATABASENAME < c:/sqlback/bk060502.sql

NOTE: Change the highlighted values with your own. When done, you will see the command prompt.
------------------------------------------------------
I m curious about that... I m not sure if it is work or not, so if mysql spit out these results with different commands and is it work or what? I need to know before I can do that to my real forum at www

thanks I maybe not be clear about that..

Also when it spit out the .sql to backsql folder and I edit it with Ultraedit and find out it is empty but only Enter password: and 16 bytes is it normal? As ya aware, I m just start on PHP and MySQL when I bought a book off from sitepoints.com so excuse my noobie QQ =\

-edit- I forget to add that I m Win2k user and I dont need that XP tool, PowerToy but use old fashion way but still not unsure about that werid 16 bytes and Enter password: I figured out on command prompt. it come out alright and I undy what you mean by that but that bytes and Enter Password:? thanks

Last edited by DestyNova; 23 Jun 2002 at 01:19.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 23 Jun 2002, 01:50
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
you dont edit nothing on the .sql file.
for a backup related to your live forums, see the other tut i made:
"how to make a reliable backup"
posted in this forum also.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:56.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: