Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBulletin Merge Tool for v2.2.x Details »
vBulletin Merge Tool for v2.2.x
Mod Version: 1.00, by JulianD (Member) JulianD is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.3.x Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 69
Released: 18 Nov 2002 Last Update: Never Downloads: 40
Not Supported Is in Beta Stage  

Well, I did this for a friend and I saw some request for this tool before, so here you got.

My code is based on the import scripts that you found on vbulletin.com.

What it does?
- Merge: users, forums, threads, posts, polls, PMs and attachments of two vBulletin databases.
- It allows to associate usernames with current vBulletin users, to prevent duplication

Both databases should be in the same server, and use the same password.

If there's a duplicated name in both databases, the script will postfix the username from the database you're merging with something like: [imported]. So you probably will find users that looks like username[imported] after the merge. To solve this problem of two usernames being one person, there's a tool in the script to merge users individually.

New version
- The database to merge can now have a different host/username/password. *
- Ability to auto merge users with the same username (to avoid 4000 users with the [imported] thing. ) *
- You can now skip the forum merging, and use the tool only to merge users.
- The poll bug seems to be fixed now. Post your feedback.


Installation:

Simply upload the attached file to /forum/importers/ and go to your Admin CP > BB Import Systems and choose vBulletin Merge Tool for v2.2.x.

Note that this script requires vBulletin 2.2.7 (or newer) to work. I have tested it with 2.2.6 but you need to upgrade the file /forum/admin/bbimport.php to the version you found on vBulletin 2.2.7 or newer.



Important Information:
This merger is beta! You should backup everything before starting. Use it under your own risk!


I decided to reopen this thread with a new version of this merger. I hope it fixes all the problems with previous versions.

REMEMBER:

If you're going to merge two database that are located on the same host, you SHOULD use a different hostname for both database.

For example:

If you have 'localhost' configured as your $servername variable on the admin/config.php file, and you want to merge a database stored on the same server, you should use something like '127.0.0.1'. Another example... If you have $servername configured to 'vbulletin.org', and you want to merge a database located on vbulletin.org, use the IP address for that server instead... In this case '205.214.66.221'. Get it?

Sorry, I'm not very good with english and it's very hard to explain this. I hope you've understood this.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 23 Nov 2002, 18:45
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
You mean, a script to fix a merged database with the poll bug?


No, thatīs not possible, iīm afraid.

You should remerge the databases. Sorry for the disadvantage.
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 25 Nov 2002, 02:56
freeshares1 freeshares1 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
i am getting the following any thoughts??? I have changed the file to 2.28 as well.

Database error in vBulletin Control Panel 2.2.6:

Invalid SQL: SELECT COUNT(*) AS count FROM 231102.sql.user
mysql error: You have an error in your SQL syntax near '231102.sql.user' at line 1

mysql error number: 1064

Date: Sunday 24th of November 2002 10:06:31 PM
Script: http://www.jokersrewards.com/forum/f...import_vb2.php
Referer: http://www.jokersrewards.com/forum/i...import_vb2.php
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 25 Nov 2002, 03:17
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
You must have the vb database as a real database, not as a dump file. Load the dump to mysql and use the database name instead.
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 25 Nov 2002, 09:39
Omar_2002 Omar_2002 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Does this script allow us to merge only the users from the second database?


Thanks

- Omar
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 25 Nov 2002, 19:26
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
Users, forums, threads, posts, polls and attachments.
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 25 Nov 2002, 19:39
Omar_2002 Omar_2002 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Sorry if I didn't understand your reply correctly.

Does that mean that the script allows you to select which of those things (Users, forums, threads, posts, polls and attachments) to import, or do we "have-to" merge all of them?

Basically what our forum users want is *only* to merge members from the second forum.

Please could you tell me if the script supports that.

Thanks again

- Omar
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 25 Nov 2002, 19:46
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
Yeah.... Basically, the script will merge everything, but it won't let you choose what to merge...


PM me and I will made a custom version for you, that only merge users (with PMs, right?).

It's something really easy to do... you just have to comment the rest of the merge process, like forums, threads, posts and attachments, and finally, do the DB clean process.
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz

Last edited by JulianD; 26 Nov 2002 at 02:32.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 26 Nov 2002, 00:26
hypedave's Avatar
hypedave hypedave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally posted by JulianD
PM me and I will made a custom version for you, that only merge users (with PMs, right?).
could you possiblt throw that in your next release by anychance?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 26 Nov 2002, 00:57
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
Well... You want it too? Let me see what can I do
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 26 Nov 2002, 01:52
hypedave's Avatar
hypedave hypedave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
sure would be nice, also hey what about like when merging an old forum to a new forum, specifying a forum location for the old forum to be merge. Like I noticed on the hack, it puts the merge forums on the forum, but it makes everything all out of order then you have to like rearrange your forums back in order, hope can kinda understand what im trying to say, lol ... got to many things going at one time at the moment
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 26 Nov 2002, 02:27
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
Originally posted by hypedave
sure would be nice, also hey what about like when merging an old forum to a new forum, specifying a forum location for the old forum to be merge. Like I noticed on the hack, it puts the merge forums on the forum, but it makes everything all out of order then you have to like rearrange your forums back in order, hope can kinda understand what im trying to say, lol ... got to many things going at one time at the moment

Hi, I just added a piece of code to skip the forum merging... That means, you can now use the merger, only for the users, and not the forums, threads, posts and attachments.
Check the first post.


About your second request, well... It is possible, but it would require some modifications to the script, and I don't have enough time right now to do it... sorry ... anyway, it's not too difficult to re arrange the forums and re apply some permissions
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 26 Nov 2002, 02:48
hypedave's Avatar
hypedave hypedave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
did you update the zip file in the first post? If so I havent received my hack update email yet.

Originally posted by JulianD
it's not too difficult to re arrange the forums and re apply some permissions

Yeah it aint difficult at all, but when you have database A has bout oh lets say 100 forums and needs to be merged with database b that has about 120, that can get very time consuming moving 100 forums around if you get the point, lol anyways it was jus a suggestion, you've done good so far, keep up the good work
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 26 Nov 2002, 02:56
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
Oh, yes... I updated the ZIP in the 1st post, but I didn't send an update to the hack.
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 27 Nov 2002, 08:14
Raptor Raptor is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
do BOTH have to be 2.2.x or just the forum you are running the script from (importing to)
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 27 Nov 2002, 17:16
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
Yeah, only the forum where you're running the script. As long as the original database structure is fine, the script should run without any problem.


Let me know if you have any problem.
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:50.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: