Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread Details »
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread
Mod Version: 1.01, by UK Jimbo (Member) UK Jimbo is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.3 Rating: (5 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 237
Released: 10 Oct 2005 Last Update: Never Downloads: 138
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Inspired by this hack.

The ad is positioned randomly after one of the postbits. We use this for positioning adsense ads on visordown.com.

Install the attached plugin then add the following code to your postbit or postbit_legacy template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Changelog

v1.01
Bug fix: The ad code shouldn't appear on PMs any more (template change)

Donations

Hopefully this plugin will earn you provide you with some good revenue. If you'd like to show your appreciation please donate as little or as much as you like.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sponsored-ad-screengrab.jpg
Views:	4060
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	35606  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 19:30
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
What about:
Show Adsense in (or under, above) first unread Post of a Thread.
I think this is the place that would get the most user attention?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 19:55
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
That's a nice idea and one I'll look into. I think it will be possible to use the $threadview variable but it'll require slightly more CPU and will have to deal with cases where the latest the newest post isn't displayed on the page.
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 20:36
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
How can I get this to not show in the PM's???

For some reason it is screwing up the page formatting when viewing private messages.
__________________
CommanderTalk.com --> www.commandertalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 20:39
hbalagh1's Avatar
hbalagh1 hbalagh1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Heather
Originally Posted by xtremeoff-road
How can I get this to not show in the PM's???

For some reason it is screwing up the page formatting when viewing private messages.
same here, didn't even bother to check that till you said that...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 20:53
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Originally Posted by hbalagh1
same here, didn't even bother to check that till you said that...
Ya I was surprised to see it there as well :surprised:
__________________
CommanderTalk.com --> www.commandertalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 21:23
DeeperImage DeeperImage is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by xtremeoff-road
How can I get this to not show in the PM's???

For some reason it is screwing up the page formatting when viewing private messages.
I've installed and no-one seems to care about my question, but nonetheless this hack only works in the PM's section with my site and nowhere else, and like you said it is messing up with the recipients name, it's adding an extra space and a ; to it.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 21:24
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by xtremeoff-road
How can I get this to not show in the PM's???

For some reason it is screwing up the page formatting when viewing private messages.
Sorry this is one I didn't see as only guests on visordown.com have the ads turned on.

This problem can be fixed with a simple template change. I've adjusted the code listed above to include the additional condition: $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 21:25
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by DeeperImage
I've installed and no-one seems to care about my question
Awwwwww

Copy/paste the code you've put in your template and I'll try to help.
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 21:28
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Originally Posted by DeeperImage
I've installed and no-one seems to care about my question, but nonetheless this hack only works in the PM's section with my site and nowhere else, and like you said it is messing up with the recipients name, it's adding an extra space and a ; to it.
Just a shot in the dark, however, do you have the correct postbit template changed? Appears you are using the postbit_legacy so did you change that template?? The code goes at the very end.
__________________
CommanderTalk.com --> www.commandertalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 21:32
DeeperImage DeeperImage is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by xtremeoff-road
Just a shot in the dark, however, do you have the correct postbit template changed? Appears you are using the postbit_legacy so did you change that template?? The code goes at the very end.
I tried it both in Postbit and Postbit_legacy and it was all the same. It does not show up. I am using a test account I created and my normal admin account and the only place I see it is in PM's
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 21:32
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo
Sorry this is one I didn't see as only guests on visordown.com have the ads turned on.

This problem can be fixed with a simple template change. I've adjusted the code listed above to include the additional condition: $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0
Hey man, sorry but that errors out...won't even let me save the template with the new code?
__________________
CommanderTalk.com --> www.commandertalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 21:33
DeeperImage DeeperImage is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo
Awwwwww

Copy/paste the code you've put in your template and I'll try to help.

I've placed it at the end right after

<!-- / post $post[postid] popup menu -->

<if condition="$show['spacer']">
</div>
$spacer_close
</if>
<!-- / post #$post[postid] -->


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by DeeperImage; 11 Oct 2005 at 21:36.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 21:41
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by xtremeoff-road
Hey man, sorry but that errors out...won't even let me save the template with the new code?
Are you using the full conditional as per the template mod at the top of the page?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 21:41
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Originally Posted by DeeperImage
I've placed it at the end right after

<!-- / post $post[postid] popup menu -->

<if condition="$show['spacer']">
</div>
$spacer_close
</if>
<!-- / post #$post[postid] -->


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
I wonder if that threaded view above your forums is messing it up? Looking at the code nothing really stood out as wrong??

You already installed the plugin right? Is it active?
__________________
CommanderTalk.com --> www.commandertalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 21:44
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo
Are you using the full conditional as per the template mod at the top of the page?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Hmmm ya I was...I reverted and replaced the code. All is good now

Appreciate it sir!
__________________
CommanderTalk.com --> www.commandertalk.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:19.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: