Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Amazon Store Integration Details »
Amazon Store Integration
Mod Version: 1.00.00 B8, by mikelbeck (Member) mikelbeck is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (3 votes - 4.33 average) Installs: 61
Released: 31 Oct 2007 Last Update: 08 Nov 2009 Downloads: 856
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations External Content Is in Beta Stage  

Finally, I've gotten around to putting together a version of the Amazon Store integration mod for vBulletin 3.6.

This mod allows you to add an Amazon store to your vBulletin. You can set it to search for a particular keyword, for different types of items - CDs, DVDs, Clothing, etc. A sample of the store in action is available here: http://www.lidragracing.com/amazon_store.php.

You will need to sign up for Amazon Web Services to get an AWS key in order for this to work. In addition, you need to have PHP 5 installed on your server.

Installation is very simple, upload 3 files, import the xml file and then add a link to the store in your navigation bar. See the attached file "ECS Amazon Store.txt" for the exact installation instructions.

Give it a try, let me know what you think. Make sure you click "Mark as Installed" if you've installed it.

Also, if you intall it and use it, please post the URL you have it installed at so I can see how it's being used.

{edit}

To upgrade to a newer version, re-upload the php files and then import the xml product file. Afterwards go to the admin control panel to check to make sure all of the fields are filled in properly.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Amazon Store Integration mikelbeck vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 35 31 Oct 2007 18:11

  #181  
Old 09 Nov 2009, 15:47
GoTTi GoTTi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
ah thats what i did wrong, i overlooked that page. thank you working now
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 09 Nov 2009, 15:52
GoTTi GoTTi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
would you know how do i change the ID code? i cant find the place where i use to be able to create new ID for stores....they really changed the panel around a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 10 Nov 2009, 01:54
mikelbeck's Avatar
mikelbeck mikelbeck is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Originally Posted by GoTTi View Post
would you know how do i change the ID code? i cant find the place where i use to be able to create new ID for stores....they really changed the panel around a lot.
That's a good question... I can't find it either. I'll poke around some more and see if I can find it.
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 11 Nov 2009, 02:25
pillarfan1 pillarfan1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Are you talking about?

https://affiliate-program.amazon.com...cking-ids.html

if link doesn't work..

1. click Account Settings in upper right corner

2. Click Manage Tracking IDs in right column
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 11 Nov 2009, 03:43
mikelbeck's Avatar
mikelbeck mikelbeck is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
That's it!
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 11 Nov 2009, 04:06
GoTTi GoTTi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Originally Posted by pillarfan1 View Post
Are you talking about?

https://affiliate-program.amazon.com...cking-ids.html

if link doesn't work..

1. click Account Settings in upper right corner

2. Click Manage Tracking IDs in right column
thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 11 Nov 2009, 12:36
Varsh's Avatar
Varsh Varsh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Aaron Varshney
Ah glad you're back on this Mikel, one of my favourite mods, happy that you're back on top of it now.
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 17 Nov 2009, 01:09
GTX2 GTX2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Hello,
I've installed this hack but then had to remove it.
Seems not be completly removed, since i got an error today when updating usergroup permissions. Can anyone help me deleting this hack?

Here is the error:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 20 Nov 2009, 19:33
j1mmy j1mmy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Where's the link for the 3.8 version of this addon?
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 22 Nov 2009, 11:15
GTX2 GTX2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
nevermind, was a missing file in includes/xml dir

Last edited by GTX2; 22 Nov 2009 at 11:28.
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 18 Dec 2009, 12:29
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
I've been running this for a few years, including donating to the developer ...

It's worked fine, then a member reported it stopped working..

I updated to the November version and obtained a new secret key and it searches fine, but when I click the link to go to the Amazon site, as an example only, I consistently get:

===========================
Not Found

The requested URL /amazon_item_1_B000F2C8IU___Four-Albums-of-Military-Song-from-Oscar-Brand.html was not found on this server.
==========================

Edit: follow up... just noticed that the link above when shown in my browser page is actually prefixing my own site to the front of it. ie: http://www.mysite.com, which of course explains the ERROR message. However, why is this mod picking up our site URL and tacking it on the front and not putting an AMAZON link on the front?

Any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks for any help ..

Regards,
Badger

Last edited by BadgerDog; 19 Dec 2009 at 12:38.
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 04 Jan 2010, 00:00
mikelbeck's Avatar
mikelbeck mikelbeck is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Originally Posted by BadgerDog View Post
I've been running this for a few years, including donating to the developer ...

It's worked fine, then a member reported it stopped working..

I updated to the November version and obtained a new secret key and it searches fine, but when I click the link to go to the Amazon site, as an example only, I consistently get:

===========================
Not Found

The requested URL /amazon_item_1_B000F2C8IU___Four-Albums-of-Military-Song-from-Oscar-Brand.html was not found on this server.
==========================

Edit: follow up... just noticed that the link above when shown in my browser page is actually prefixing my own site to the front of it. ie: http://www.mysite.com, which of course explains the ERROR message. However, why is this mod picking up our site URL and tacking it on the front and not putting an AMAZON link on the front?

Any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks for any help ..

Regards,
Badger
Sorry it's taken so long to get back to this...

Are you still having this problem? What's the URL of your site?
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 04 Jan 2010, 12:57
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by mikelbeck View Post
Sorry it's taken so long to get back to this...

Are you still having this problem? What's the URL of your site?
No problem Sir ...

Also got your PM... very gracious of you to follow up ... appreciate it ...

The problem turned out to be ours and not that of your mod. With 10,000+ members and growing, we had to upgrade to a new server. When we did that and moved everything over, apparently one of our settings was incorrect. A friend who is a Unix guru fixed it on our server and he said:

The main AllowOverride wasn't set for the overall web server, that was preventing some of the commands in the .htaccess file from executing properly.

I hope you understand what he means, because I sure don't ...

Anyway, it's working fine now, but something that would really help us out would be the addition of which Amazon country site the user wants to go to in order to buy the product he finds in the "search" criteria.

Right now, we set it in AdminCP to be Canada, where we're located, however, if the member is from the U.S., he searches the United States site and finds the item. Unfortunately, when he clicks on the found item in the search, the mod takes him to the Canada Amazon site and not the U.S. Amazon site where he wants to buy it from. If he then goes to the bottom of the Amazon page and selects the U.S. site to get him back there, we LOSE the commission credit for the sale as his link back to the U.S. while on Amazon drops our commission code information.

Is there any way to have the mod go to the appropriate Amazon site (retaining the commission information in our link), when the member clicks on an item that he's searched and found in a different country than what is stored in the AdminCP settings for the mod?

Thanks for your support. Great mod and if we could get it to go to the right country selected from searches, I think it would get more members using it. As it is now, we're missing a lot of opportunity to support our "not for profit" site by members who aren't in Canada, which is more than 70%.

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 10 Jan 2010, 04:37
FitgirlWorld FitgirlWorld is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
NOT WORKING for me... and here is the problem..

I copy the contents of the htaccess -new file and paste it in the curent htaccess file in the forum root directory and

BAM

the forums stop working and dont exist.

I remove the code I pasted and they start working again..


what am I doing wrong?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 10 Jan 2010, 05:19
FitgirlWorld FitgirlWorld is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
got it!

problem was VBSEO mod rewrite..

had to make some changes
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:55.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: