Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 23 Sep 2015, 19:02
Justinphx Justinphx is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reason for Edit Character Length?

We are limited to how much we can type in the reason for the edit or deletion of a thread/post. Can the limit be increased so we can type as much as we need to?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23 Sep 2015, 22:02
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Sorry was late last night so did not read your query properly.

Last edited by Seven Skins; 24 Sep 2015 at 18:59. Reason: Wrong answer given to query
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24 Sep 2015, 16:51
Justinphx Justinphx is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I tried that and it doesn't work to solve this issue. Basically, what I would like to do is increase the max number of characters we can type in the Reason for Edit" box. I would like to give our members a little more information on why a post was edited or deleted to reduce PM's from them asking why something was edited/deleted.

This is the text box:




Update: I finally figured it out. I just searched the templates for maxlength="125" because that is the default length and changed to 500.

Last edited by Justinphx; 24 Sep 2015 at 17:06.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24 Sep 2015, 17:14
squidsk's Avatar
squidsk squidsk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Increasing the size of the box does not necessarily mean you can actually have a longer edit message, since that will also depend on the data type for the message in your database. For example you changing the length of the edit box to 500 but the size of the reason field in the database, for vb 4.2.2pl4, is 200 characters, so any message with over 200 characters will either cause the edit to fail or truncate the message to the first 200 characters.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24 Sep 2015, 19:04
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
What I used to do in one of my forums was leave a edit note at the end of post if the reason for edit was going to be long e.g.



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25 Sep 2015, 00:15
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
For the database part, you have to change it using a SQL query such as:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I don't know if vBulletin does its own truncating before it inserts it into the database though.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:46.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: