Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 30 Sep 2007, 03:57
001 001 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
How to reserve usernames?

I would like to reserve more than 100 usernames before I start a forum. I know I can blacklist them but it will disallow any other combination with these names however I don't want to do this. Can I use quotes or something to reserve only the required names? Mod anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30 Sep 2007, 04:31
nexialys
Guest
 
my suggestion would be to create these users now, and give the password to the persons you want these usernames to be given... this is the simpliest way of doing it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30 Sep 2007, 06:01
001 001 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
The problem is everyone can see these user names by checking the profiles of the first registered users. Also it is not really easy and convenient to create all these users that might be even more, not to mention the incorrect number of users that will be displayed on the home page. The idea is if I can use the blacklist option that should be modified to check for exact matches.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30 Sep 2007, 07:49
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
The best way I can think of is editing your ./includes/class_dm_user.php file and adding something along the lines of
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

At the end of the verify_username function, just above where it says
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Or the simple way (covers less angles but doesn't require file edits), add a plugin using the register_addmember_process hook, with:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If someone wanted they could take it a step further and use an option instead of hardcoding the names.

Last edited by Adrian Schneider; 30 Sep 2007 at 07:55.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Oct 2007, 21:44
001 001 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Thank you. I tried the plugin although I don't know what you mean by "cover less angles".
But it seems it doesn't convert to lower case.

Last edited by 001; 01 Oct 2007 at 22:31.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Oct 2007, 22:31
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Adding new users by other means than registration.

Whether it's your own registration form, adding via AdminCP, etc. It goes through the datamanager than just the registration form.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01 Oct 2007, 22:59
001 001 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
I see. And any solutions about the lowercase conversion? Otherwise the registration can still be made even if the name is reserved.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01 Oct 2007, 23:11
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
change it to..


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You'll have to read between the lines a bit to do it. The array of names would also need to be in lowercase.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01 Oct 2007, 23:25
001 001 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Thanks a lot. It seems it only works with English characters though. However the the usual registration recognizes properly if the user name is really taken with non-English letters. It there a way to make this work too?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02 Oct 2007, 02:48
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
I think vb has its own strtolower function that better handles non-English chars. I'll check later tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06 Oct 2007, 04:06
001 001 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
I supposed so too. It would be nice if we can use that function in the plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06 Oct 2007, 08:22
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
vbstrtolower() in includes/functions.php.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07 Oct 2007, 04:57
001 001 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Thanks, it works now.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02 Jan 2020, 23:31
a100 a100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Is there anything like that for the newest versions?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reserve usernames for guests only Paul vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 8 14 Aug 2002 10:23



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:33.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: