Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Private Message Quote Formatting Details »
Private Message Quote Formatting
Mod Version: 1.0, by kh99 (Senior Member) kh99 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 32
Released: 15 Dec 2012 Last Update: 01 Jan 2013 Downloads: 101
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Re-usable Code Translations  

What is it?
----------------------------
This mod arranges quotes in a PM to be in a "conversational" order instead of being nested. This solves the problem of displaying deeply-nested quotes. This mod also has an option to add a date/time stamp to quoted PMs.

Also, I'm not much of an html/css person - this mod mostly provides variables which can be checked in the template, and a bare-bones css file. If anyone comes up with css for a better looking format and wants to share it, please do (and maybe I'll put it in a later version).

(vb4 version is here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=292968)


Installation:
----------------------------
Just import the product XML file from the Product Manager. This doesn't change stored PMs in any way (unless you enable the date/time stamp option - see below), so you can uninstall or disable the product at any time to go back to the original PM template.

If you'd like to customize the format, you can edit the kh99_pm_quote, kh99_pm_quote_bit, and/or the kh99_pm_quote.css templates.

If you want to add date/time tags to PM quotes, go to the adminCP options under "Private Messaging Options" and set "Add Date and Time to Quotes" to yes. Note that if you later uninstall this mod, any messages quoted while this option was on will still contain a date/time tag, but it will display after the name in a default format and timezone. If this is a concern, it's probably better that you don't enable this option.

Also note that the date/time option only adds the timestamp to newly quoted messages - it will not add one to quotes in existing messages.

Note: Because I forgot to set a product id for version 0.90, when upgrading from 0.90 to a later version the mod installs as a separate product so that it looks like this mod is installed twice. If that happens you should just be able to uninstall version 0.9.

History:
----------------------------
1.0 (Jan 01, 2013)
  • Fixed issue with white page on some forums
  • All templates now cached (I hope).
0.91 (Dec 22, 2012)
  • Fixed conflict with at least one mod that adds default text formmating
  • Fixed problem with html in pm notification email
  • Option to show only N newest quotes and hide the rest
  • Optional Date/Time tag added to quotes in PMs
  • Added enable/disable option for the entire product, in admincp
  • Templates are now cached
0.9 (Dec 14, 2012)
  • Initial Release

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sg1.jpg
Views:	318
Size:	73.4 KB
ID:	142898   Click image for larger version

Name:	sg2.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	142988   Click image for larger version

Name:	sg3.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	55.8 KB
ID:	143114  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Private Messages Enhancements Private Message Quote Formatting kh99 vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 86 27 Jun 2018 21:44

  #46  
Old 26 Dec 2012, 12:58
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by Kajouka View Post
I have 3.8.5 installed and when I added this, my server couldn't load the private.php page or the actual messages.

Not sure if it's that I haven't upgraded all the way, just thought I'd let you know. Thanks!
One other person had that same problem - I suspect a conflict with another mod. Any way you could tell me which mods you have installed (or PM me if you don't want to post it)?

Edit: also, I originally developed this on vb3.8.3, so I don't think the issue is the version.

Last edited by kh99; 26 Dec 2012 at 17:30.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 27 Dec 2012, 04:42
dizzynation's Avatar
dizzynation dizzynation is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Sweet, looking to install tonight. I have "Send PM Attachments" mod, think everything will work ok?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 27 Dec 2012, 11:39
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by dizzynation View Post
Sweet, looking to install tonight. I have "Send PM Attachments" mod, think everything will work ok?
I haven't tested it with that mod, but offhand I don't know of any reason that it wouldn't. It should be safe for you to try, you only need to uninstall this mod if there's a problem - it won't leave anything behind. But if this mod doesn't work for you, I'll try to figure out why.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 29 Dec 2012, 02:32
dizzynation's Avatar
dizzynation dizzynation is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Installed and works great with "Send PM Attachments"
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 31 Dec 2012, 08:16
vijayninel's Avatar
vijayninel vijayninel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Real name: Vijay
Great mod but getting white pages

I have vBulletin PM-Autoresponder, GTPrivate Messages Enhanced Listing, GTUserCP - Enhanced USERCP Interface + USERCP Menu, PM Block List by BOP5. (edit .. tried disabling these mods but it still dint work)/

Last edited by vijayninel; 31 Dec 2012 at 12:21.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 31 Dec 2012, 13:17
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Thanks, I'll try installing those anyway because I'm not sure what else to do.

Can you tell me what version of vb and php you have?

Edit: Also, another thing you could do if you still have this mod installed: There are 4 plugins - try enabling only one at a time to see if you can determine which one is causing the white screen.

Last edited by kh99; 31 Dec 2012 at 13:32.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 31 Dec 2012, 13:46
vijayninel's Avatar
vijayninel vijayninel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Real name: Vijay
Thanks for the reply. Disabling the plugin - "PM Quote Formatting - Add CSS" makes the rest work of the mod work fine. Enabling it gives white pages.

I have vB 3.8.5 on PHP 5.3.10-1ubuntu3.4
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 31 Dec 2012, 14:06
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Could you try replacing the code in the "PM Quote Formatting - Add CSS" plugin with this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 31 Dec 2012, 14:17
vijayninel's Avatar
vijayninel vijayninel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Real name: Vijay
^^ Replaced. Working perfectly fine now. Thanks.

Installed.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 31 Dec 2012, 14:26
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Great - yeah, it's combined vb3/vb4 code and I thought at one point it was a good idea to check for the vB_Template class, but I guess some mod is defining that. I should have known better. In any case I appreciate your help in figuring it out.

I'll release an update soon with that fix.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01 Jan 2013, 15:09
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Version 1.0 hopefully fixes the white page problem some people had, and also caches that template I missed last time. Thanks to everyone who helped find the bugs in the beta versions.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01 Jan 2013, 16:41
Abu2's Avatar
Abu2 Abu2 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Real name: Andrew
kh99, Thank you! It works!
__________________
Sol lucet omnibus
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 05 Mar 2013, 12:50
joeychgo's Avatar
joeychgo joeychgo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Joey
How about moving the quote command in the quick reply box down a bit so people dont mistakenly put text inside the quotes when answering?
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05 Mar 2013, 13:36
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by joeychgo View Post
How about moving the quote command in the quick reply box down a bit so people dont mistakenly put text inside the quotes when answering?
You can do that yourself - edit template kh99_newpm_quote and just put a blank line above the code that's already there.

You can also do it without this mod by editing newpost_quote (under New Posting Templates) and do the same thing. If you do that, it will work for both PMs and regular posts. If you only wanted the space for PMs you could do this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 19 Dec 2015, 16:05
OnlyTouch's Avatar
OnlyTouch OnlyTouch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Real name: Galina
Good mod, installed!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: