Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 28 Apr 2017, 10:57
Nocturnal222 Nocturnal222 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Setting a usergroup as a section moderator.

Hi

Currently running a gaming community(v4.2.2) using 2 staff teams to manage it.

One team to moderate the forum, one team for the in-game side.
The in-game team has people come and go all the time, and they have a private section in which they post logs of whatever they do so I can keep track of their actions. They need moderator tools(don't ask why they need, just believe that they do) to open/close/move/edit content within this section, but nowhere else.

How can I set the in-game team usergroup as a section moderator for their private section, without giving them moderator tools for the rest of the forum? I'm getting rather tired of adding/removing people every week.

Any ideas? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28 Apr 2017, 14:26
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
You cannot, without some form of modification.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29 Apr 2017, 07:41
Nocturnal222 Nocturnal222 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
You cannot, without some form of modification.
Is there such a modification available?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29 Apr 2017, 12:05
alcazarx's Avatar
alcazarx alcazarx is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Dunno. Maybe Dragonbyte (DB-Tech) has something like this

Btw, me knows many forum scripts where you can set either an user or a group as moderator for forums. Why doesn't vB have this option?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29 Apr 2017, 16:20
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by Nocturnal222 View Post
Is there such a modification available?
Maybe, I dont know. Search the forums and see what you find.

Originally Posted by alcazarx View Post
Btw, me knows many forum scripts where you can set either an user or a group as moderator for forums. Why doesn't vB have this option?
Obviously its never been a popular enough feature to add.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29 Apr 2017, 17:52
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lancashire, UK
Maybe this? http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=281850
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[HTL] & [Normal] Setting Varname Next to the Setting Title. Link14716 vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 6 15 Jan 2004 15:26



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:03.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: