Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Alphabetical Forum Filtering (ABC Threads Menu) Details »
Alphabetical Forum Filtering (ABC Threads Menu)
Mod Version: 1.1, by RenatoMN (Member) RenatoMN is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.4 Rating: (15 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 97
Released: 01 Nov 2009 Last Update: 05 Nov 2009 Downloads: 560
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template  

This mod add an "ABC Menu" on top of forumdisplay.php, to filter threads by theirs initial letter. It's fully customisable, as you may see in the screenshots attached.

I take a lot of caution coding 3 different locations to place it and a variable that you can use to manual placement.

There's also styling options:

- active "filtered letter" link color;
- active "filtered letter" cell background color;
- letters cells classes (only alt2 or alternating alt1/alt2);
- configurable optional message above the ABC Menu - phrased (multi language);

When the user clicks a letter in the ABC Menu, the thread results will be filtered in the default order (configured in ACP or overriden by user options in UserCP). Then, a popup menu will be displayed aside the letter to reorder the filtering (there's all options: per title, starting date, last post date, replys number, number of views, thread started username and thread rating - all in both descending+ascending orders).

The # link lists not only the threads started by numbers, but all threads not started by a letter (what includes number 0-9 and all symbols).

Stop loosing your time. Download, install and see it yourself!

Installation instructions
- Import attached product

Upgrade instructions (any version to 1.1)
1- Import attached product (set Allow overwrite = Yes)
2- Check your configs (will need to adjust colspan and positioning again)

Note about colspan

Take some time checking the colspan value. The lower you set it, better. I'm saying this because if you set 5 for a skin that need only 4, newer browsers will renderize it ignoring the excess, but older will render 1 (or more) blank columns (and you will end up with an HTML structural error, regardless what the browser renderize).

It's now adjusted as 5 by default (new installs*). If you upgraded your version, you will need to manually adjust it. This occurs because the old version automatically add + 3 to configured value. But I saw some skins this week with very different layouts for forumdisplay (they have only 2-3 columns), so I decided to remove this "+3" adjustment in code. So, if you set it 3, you will have colspan="3", and so on.

The mod auto adjusts the colspan based in your forum configurations (the colspan is increased by 1 when the forum have threadicons and/or the inlinemod column is show). When you use manual placement, a key text should be used as colspan value in your template (--abcfilter-colspan--), to benefits of this function that identify the inlinemod/threadicons columns + the colspan setting.


Version History

01/11/2009 - 1.0
- Initial release.

01/11/2009 - 1.0b
- Fixed Plugin code (see post #1908976).
- Small edit in popup menu <if> statements.

05/11/2009 - 1.1
- Fixed pagination.
- New template positions.
- 1 more fix in the <if> statements.
- Removed unnecessary template caching.
- Added session hash in URL, when present.
- Configurable No Follow parameter in links.
- Optional line break (<br>) below ABC Menu.
- Configurable # symbol (set 0-9, @, or whatever).
- Selected letter cell class now match styles automatically.
- You may still customize the colors, if you want a "highlight".
- Re-ordering results in forum footer keeps the thread list filtered.*

* This may not work with all styles (let me know).

Known bugs: pagination works fine, however, page totals are not decreased after filtering.

e.g.: if you have 200 threads, divided in 10 pages (20 per page), after filtering the forum for the letter "A", if you have 35 results, you will see not only 2 pages, but all 10 (pages 3 to 10 returns the default "no threads to show" error). I do not see it as a big problems, specially because I added both Asc/Desc orders in the filtering, so you don't need to waste your time trying to find the "last page" of a filtering with 5+ pages: just inverse the order and go to page 1


IF YOU'RE USING IT, MARK AS INSTALLED. IT'S GOOD FOR YOU AND ME.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	alphabetical_ff_forum.jpg
Views:	1732
Size:	126.5 KB
ID:	105833   Click image for larger version

Name:	alphabetical_ff_acp.jpg
Views:	1092
Size:	120.8 KB
ID:	105834  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 01 Nov 2009, 08:53
abouahmed's Avatar
abouahmed abouahmed is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: mohamed
nice mod
thanks,
__________________
Web Design
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Nov 2009, 09:15
Cerbero1000 Cerbero1000 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Very nice, but popup menu don't working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Nov 2009, 11:33
mbc100 mbc100 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Real name: Ahmed
great but, I think it works with forums that use Latin characters
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Nov 2009, 12:07
soulface's Avatar
soulface soulface is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Eros
After installing this mod, when I go to any forum I'm getting this error...

Warning: in_array() [function.in-array]: Wrong datatype for second argument in [path]/global.php(355) : eval()'d code on line 472

Warning: in_array() [function.in-array]: Wrong datatype for second argument in [path]/forumdisplay.php(111) : eval()'d code on line 82
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Nov 2009, 17:45
RenatoMN's Avatar
RenatoMN RenatoMN is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by abouahmed View Post
nice mod
thanks,
Thanks.
Mark as installed, please.

Originally Posted by funmasti View Post
i was looking for this
Nominate?

Originally Posted by Cerbero1000 View Post
Very nice, but popup menu don't working.
Try this updated version. If still not working with your skin, try default vB skin.

Let me know the results, please.

Originally Posted by mbc100 View Post
great but, I think it works with forums that use Latin characters
Sorry?

Originally Posted by soulface View Post
After installing this mod, when I go to any forum I'm getting this error...
Thanks for reporting. Warnings were disabled in my server.

Updated.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01 Nov 2009, 18:15
delibakis delibakis is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
English is not my 'm sorry for writing wrong
How beginners as beginners will do 0.1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9 figures
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01 Nov 2009, 19:41
RenatoMN's Avatar
RenatoMN RenatoMN is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
@delibakis,

The button # will show all threads not starting with A-Z.

So it show threads starting with: 0-9, [ ] { } $ # % ^ & * .. whatever

You may replace the "#" symbol for other text in:
Plugins > Alphabetical FF - Show ABC Menu (@around line 18)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I may also add a field to change it at mod options in next update, or show both separated: 0-9 and # (symbols) buttons.

Where are you from?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01 Nov 2009, 20:19
killerkraft's Avatar
killerkraft killerkraft is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Smile

Great addon, thank's.
I was waiting for this...

Obrigadão Renato...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01 Nov 2009, 21:14
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
thanks great mod
__________________
Egypt News website, latest Egyptian news updated instantly.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02 Nov 2009, 03:54
inciarco's Avatar
inciarco inciarco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Lightbulb

Nominated For MOTM.

Works Fine on vB373 PL1.

I Hope You Can Find a Way to Work the Extra Pagination.

Is Important that you Include Usergroup Restrictions, like an Option to Select the Usergroups that Can Use this Mod.

On Plugin "Alphabetical Forum Filtering - Show ABC Menu" you can add

at the Beginning

if (is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, explode(',','5,6,7,2')))
{
and at the End

}
to Display it Only to Usergroups '5,6,7,2'; if required you can Add Usergroups by Adding them Sepparated by Commas.

You can Add an Option for the Mod where Admins can Specify the Usergroups listed as

5,6,7,2

My Best Regards.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02 Nov 2009, 07:00
Cerbero1000 Cerbero1000 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
No way to have popup menu working. I have updated to last version. I'm on 3.7.5
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02 Nov 2009, 10:43
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Nice mod, and lol @ donate button INSIDE the admincp options ..

Probably going to use it on http://wetalk.tv in the 'tv shows' forum.

Feature request: this, but for forums. I have a site with 500 sub forums, having the user use that as a directory would be cool.
__________________
My community; http://wetalknation.net
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02 Nov 2009, 17:43
RenatoMN's Avatar
RenatoMN RenatoMN is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Originally Posted by inciarco View Post
Nominated For MOTM.

Works Fine on vB373 PL1.

I Hope You Can Find a Way to Work the Extra Pagination.
Thanks

I found a forum with a custom "ABC Menu" who did it, I think it's not too hard. Will look further still today.

Is Important that you Include Usergroup Restrictions, like an Option to Select the Usergroups that Can Use this Mod.

(...)

You can Add an Option for the Mod where Admins can Specify the Usergroups listed as

5,6,7,2

My Best Regards.

Thanks for the suggestion. Works exactly same way the forums configuration. I just didn't realize somebody would want usergroup permissions. Will be implementing this for sure.

Originally Posted by Cerbero1000 View Post
No way to have popup menu working. I have updated to last version. I'm on 3.7.5
The mod has been developed for 3.8.4 (should work from at least 3.8 RC 3).

3.7 require a new mod, with the JS popup menu ported (3.8 have it built in).

I will be looking @ it next days/weeks. Would be faster if you donate to incentivate

Originally Posted by Floris View Post
Nice mod, and lol @ donate button INSIDE the admincp options ..

Probably going to use it on http://wetalk.tv in the 'tv shows' forum.
Something wrong with the donation button?

Searched vb.org rules and found nothing related to donations for coders. Considering vB.org have a specific forum for paid requests, it sounds nice to incentivate coders develop free mods and paid mods for a lower price (this mod is from a paid request, and while other coders would ask hundreds dollars, I asked a very low incentive and firmed that it would be publicy available after finished).

I'm still implementing all features the user request: he wants A-Z filtering in forumhome (index.php) also, below each forum title. However, this seems hards to code, because there are 4 forumbits to attach the ABC Menu template and there is nothink to "hook in" that is widely used from different styles. Any user using a style != from vB default will have to use the manual placement in forumhome (and, like I said, there are 4 forumbits...). Like you can see, I hate manual edits. It make upgrading vB a bad experience.

Feature request: this, but for forums. I have a site with 500 sub forums, having the user use that as a directory would be cool.
My forum have ~350 forums (50 of usergroups and staff level sections). I found a way to reduce the 300 content forums to only 8 (I'm implementing this - it's some kind of "filtering" too)

Send me a PM if you're interested in know more.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02 Nov 2009, 19:39
RenatoMN's Avatar
RenatoMN RenatoMN is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
@Cerbero1000:

Users reported it to works with 3.7.3 PL1, so it should work with 3.7.5 as well (I mean, it have the JS necessary built in), so there's no need for a new mod released to 3.7.x.

Please post your forums URL here (or send me a PM), then I will be able to debug it (at least 1 forum must be open to guests).

Originally Posted by inciarco
Originally Posted by RenatoMN
Originally Posted by inciarco
Works Fine on vB373 PL1.
Does the ordering popup works?

Asking because a user using 3.7.5 reported it as broken, so I though 3.7 does not have the JS for popup menus.

(more comments about your post in http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=227174)

Regards,
Renato
Hi.

Yes, it Works Fine on vB373 PL1; it's activated when the User Clicks on the Letter and after the Forum is Filtered on the Clicked Letter Appears the Dropdown Option with the Backgroud Color specified on the ACP Mod's Option, and when Clicking on it, Displays the Ordering Options, by Title and by other Criterias.

Is a very nice Mod, RenatoMN, Thank You Very Much for Sharing it.

My Best Regards.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:46.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: