Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06 Dec 2008, 03:44
Ghost Shadow's Avatar
Ghost Shadow Ghost Shadow is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Question Open Anouncement?

Is it possible to have the Announcement or Sticky fully open when someone visits a thread, so they do not have to open it?

TIA!!
K58
vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06 Dec 2008, 03:52
ssslippy's Avatar
ssslippy ssslippy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Use a notice
__________________
Immortal Guild - My Guilds Website
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06 Dec 2008, 03:56
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Do you mean have them open when someone visits the forumdisplay? I'm not sure how you can have a thread open when you visit another thread. But, anyway, it sounds like maybe you want to use Notices. Those may do what you want.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06 Dec 2008, 04:00
Ghost Shadow's Avatar
Ghost Shadow Ghost Shadow is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Originally Posted by ssslippy View Post
Use a notice
it won't work since I'm using BB Code [table] mod. It is a table.

I want to have a different Announcement or Sticky on each thread. So when someone opens a thread, they will see the Announcement or Sticky open at the top of the thread.

--------------- Added 06 Dec 2008 at 18:02 ---------------

I want to have a different Announcement or Sticky on each thread "open". So when someone opens a thread, they will see the Announcement or Sticky open at the top of the thread.

There has to be a way!!

I tried the "Notices" option, but table code is not as flexible as BB Code [table]!!

Last edited by Ghost Shadow; 06 Dec 2008 at 18:02. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07 Dec 2008, 19:04
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Create a new phrase..... I'll call it 'new_phrase', and put your message in there using valid html

At the top of the SHOWTHREAD template where you want the message to appear, put in:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07 Dec 2008, 19:20
Ghost Shadow's Avatar
Ghost Shadow Ghost Shadow is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
I don't think this will work since I have 12 Threads and I want a different message on top of each Thread.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07 Dec 2008, 19:44
ssslippy's Avatar
ssslippy ssslippy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
ok what page exactly are u talking about here, can u give us a link to what page u want to show this on?

You keep saying thread, but then that would be the first post in a thread.
__________________
Immortal Guild - My Guilds Website
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07 Dec 2008, 20:01
Ghost Shadow's Avatar
Ghost Shadow Ghost Shadow is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Originally Posted by ssslippy View Post
ok what page exactly are u talking about here, can u give us a link to what page u want to show this on?

You keep saying thread, but then that would be the first post in a thread.
OK...
Threads:
http://www.warfaith.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1

Top Thread:
http://www.warfaith.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2

What I want open on top of the Thread (Sticky):
http://www.warfaith.com/showthread.php?t=2

or

What I want open on top of the Thread (Announcement):
http://www.warfaith.com/announcement.php?f=2

On each Thread I want a different message. If you look at each of the Threads, you will notice a Sticky and Announcement, each different; that's what I want to appear open on each Thread.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07 Dec 2008, 20:02
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Be creative.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)

Last edited by Lynne; 08 Dec 2008 at 15:40.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08 Dec 2008, 02:29
Ghost Shadow's Avatar
Ghost Shadow Ghost Shadow is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Do I still create a new phrase...where does the "if" statement go?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08 Dec 2008, 04:03
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I just suggested a phrase cuz it's easy and looks cleaner to me in the template. You don't have to do it that way. There are a ton of different ways you could do it - you could even use templates. If I were to do it, I'd use a plugin. I'd have the condition, and based on which thread it is, I'd do a query and grab the first post in the Sticky thread that you want at the top of the thread and then spit it out. I don't know how comfortable you are coding, but that is a nice clean, simple way to do it. The easy way if you don't want to code is to do what I suggested and just write that condition at the top of the SHOWTHREAD template where you want the message/announcement to appear. You probably don't need the first condition regarding the forumid, you just need the condition regarding the thread id. So, you check to see if it's thread id xxxx, and if so, you spit out 'whatever'. If this were me putting the message at the top of the page, I'd put it either right above or right below the $poll.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08 Dec 2008, 04:54
Ghost Shadow's Avatar
Ghost Shadow Ghost Shadow is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
1. Getting this error when placing above $poll.
The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ']' in /home/jlee1958/public_html/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3772) : eval()'d code on line 26

2. Correct santax would be?
<if condition="$threadid]=='2'">


Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08 Dec 2008, 13:08
cono1717 cono1717 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I am not too sure about this as I am not a expert with this but wouldn't it be.
<if condition="[$threadid]=='2'"> ? Again I am not too sure though.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08 Dec 2008, 15:41
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Ghost Shadow View Post
1. Getting this error when placing above $poll.
The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ']' in /home/jlee1958/public_html/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3772) : eval()'d code on line 26

2. Correct santax would be?
<if condition="$threadid]=='2'">


Thank you.
I mistyped the second line. It should just be:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09 Dec 2008, 00:41
Ghost Shadow's Avatar
Ghost Shadow Ghost Shadow is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Question

I put this bellow $poll to just test things and nothing happened when I went into the Thread.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thank you for helping and being patient with me.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: