Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 29 Nov 2014, 20:49
itayKinnrot itayKinnrot is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
using gigya with vbulletin

Hi,

currently im using gigya user management for my blog (wordpress) and want to use it also for my vbulletin forum.
i consider using vbsso to connect wordpress with vbulletin. anyone tried it? any suggestions?

gigya has the ability to connect any PHP platform with include_once "./GSSDK.php";
http://developers.gigya.com/030_Serv...ding_a_Request
where should i put this code to load gigya in vbulletin?

thanks,
Dooby
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29 Nov 2014, 20:55
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
I have not seen anything like that. Someone asked about this almost four years ago and no one had a solution then either, http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...ighlight=gigya
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30 Nov 2014, 06:10
itayKinnrot itayKinnrot is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Hi,

Gigya, is the biggest SAAS company for site and social identity management.
i will deal with it. just need to know where and how should i add this:
include_once "./GSSDK.php";

this allow me to add gigya js to vbulletin and call API calls.

thanks,
Dooby
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30 Nov 2014, 09:10
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
You could use a plugin, and use hook location global_start or init_startup. The right hook might depend on exactly what you need to do, but you could try those to start. If you do that, that script will be included on every vbulletin request. That might add a lot of overhead depending on what happens in that script. You might instead want to just use an "include_once" wherever you need to use the api.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30 Nov 2014, 10:18
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
You shouldn't be using the global_start hook, but use the global_bootstrap_init_start hook instead, as the global_start hook is depreciated.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30 Nov 2014, 10:28
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
While it's true that the use of global_start was deprecated, development of vb4 is done except for minor fixes and php version upgrades, so I think it's pretty clear at this point that it will never be removed. It would be ridiculous at this point to release a new version of vb4 with that hook removed.

Also, hook global_bootstrap_init_start is called inside a function, and that could have an effect on how the script works, depending on what it does.

Last edited by kh99; 30 Nov 2014 at 10:37.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30 Nov 2014, 10:38
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
I think that is true Kevin, as I still use that hook. But I just wanted to point it out just in case.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30 Nov 2014, 17:32
itayKinnrot itayKinnrot is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
thanks,
i need a little bit more explanation on how using the hook global_bootstrap_init_start hook.
the main use for this plugin is to login with social network to vbulletin.

Dooby
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30 Nov 2014, 17:46
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
You asked how to include, include_once "./GSSDK.php";

Kevin told you what hook to use. To do that you need to go to Plugins & Products --> Plugin Manager and add a new plugin.

As far as incorporating it into vBulletin beyond that, read the documentation. If you do not understand what to do, you will probably have to pay someone to integrate it into vBulletin for you.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30 Nov 2014, 17:53
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by itayKinnrot View Post
thanks,
i need a little bit more explanation on how using the hook global_bootstrap_init_start hook.
the main use for this plugin is to login with social network to vbulletin.

Dooby
How do you intend to use it? You're going to write some php code, right? I think I would just start that code with the include_once statement. Or are you asking where you can put your php code to use that api for login? That would be a little more complicated.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01 Dec 2014, 08:16
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
While it's true that the use of global_start was deprecated, development of vb4 is done except for minor fixes and php version upgrades, so I think it's pretty clear at this point that it will never be removed. It would be ridiculous at this point to release a new version of vb4 with that hook removed.
The hook has never been present in the CMS. So: Don't use global_start if you want something to work all across the suite.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01 Dec 2014, 09:05
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by cellarius View Post
The hook has never been present in the CMS. So: Don't use global_start if you want something to work all across the suite.
Thanks, I don't know if I ever knew that.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01 Dec 2014, 09:29
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Yeah, I remember learning it the hard way
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06 May 2015, 21:13
mykkal's Avatar
mykkal mykkal is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Mike McKoy
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
Thanks, I don't know if I ever knew that.
Did you ever get this to work? I too use gigya on wordpress and would like to use it with my vbulletin site. There is a vbulletin wordpress/integration that I believe creates an account on wordpress for vbulletin users and syncs them. Maybe that is an optional workaround. thoughts?
__________________
Casting Calls for Models, Actors, And Other Talent
http://MyModelTalk.com
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:25.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: