Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Template Cache Details »
Template Cache
Mod Version: 0.0.4, by lendy (Member) lendy is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.4 Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 54
Released: 12 Feb 2007 Last Update: 26 Feb 2007 Downloads: 536
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files  

This mod is for larger vBulletin installations that have problems with server load (to be run together with an opcode cache). Smaller installations will usually see no performance improvement.Speed up your Forums & Save Bandwidth

Reference

Plugin Based Template Cache
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=121876

Compress Forum Templates
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=107615

Require

Must install one of
1. APC,PECL,Visit:http://pecl.php.net/apc
2. eAccelerator,fork of the Turck MMCache,Visit:http://eaccelerator.net/
3. Turck MMCache,Visit:http://sourceforge.net/projects/turck-mmcache
4. Xcache,Lighttpd,Visit:http://trac.lighttpd.net/xcache/



Upgrade

1. Disable the product (Plugin System -> Manage Products -> Template Cache Options -> Disable)
2. Upload the new includes/template_cache.php
3. Import the new product-template_cache.xml (Allow Overwrite: YES)
4. Enable the product

Installation

1. Upload includes/template_cache.php to your forum
2. Install the product-template_cache.xml
3. Check and select which cache type? APC,eAccelerator,Turck MMCache,Xcache
4. Enable the product
5. vBulletin Options -> vBulletin Options -> Template Cache Options -> Modify the settings (especially enabling it).

Deinstallation

1. Disable the product
2. Remove the product
3. Check the 4 plugins of this product are gone
4. Delete includes/template_cache.php
5. Clear your PHP cache if you are using any.

Common Templates That May Need To Be Added to Ignore Settings:
phpinclude_start phpinclude_end editor_jsoptions_font editor_jsoptions_size forumhome navbar forumhome_vbshout forumhome_vbshout_shout


What it does:

1. hook "cache_templates",get $globaltemplates from cache,if not(Exclude Templates),get template from cache_templates();the cache use one of APC,eAccelerator,Turck MMCache,Xcache.Reduce MYSQL query and DISK IO.

2. There is an option to have certain templates saved seperatly to memory.

3. Automatically clears the cache when modifying or inserting templates, done using the hook admin_global and a check of $_GET, and also clearing when modifying the options.


The cache memory only get created when they are needed the first time. The memory can get one megabytes in size, mine is 0.5mb (default installation, no plugins/hacks). If you have new templates/styles and several plugins it can get 1-2mb no problem.if you use compress template,it will smaller.

notice
eAccelerator:
The shm functionshave been disabled by default;Take a look at configure --help for more information. see: http://eaccelerator.net/ticket/95
Xcache:
in php.ini or xcache.ini
set xcache.var_size not 0,same as xcache.size

Updates

Version 0.0.4:
26th Feb 2007, Change check if install shm,function_exists(info to put);The shm functionshave been disabled by default in eAccelerator.
Version 0.0.3:
12th Feb 2007, add Compress Template.
Version 0.0.2:
11th Feb 2007, add cache Xcache,delete cache File.
Version 0.0.1:
10th Feb 2007, work with APC,eAccelerator,Turck MMCache,File in 3.6.4.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	template_cache.jpg
Views:	798
Size:	75.8 KB
ID:	60419  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools ZH - Template Cache Ziki vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 36 04 Nov 2011 23:49
Administrative and Maintenance Tools ZH - Template Cache Ziki vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 53 24 May 2008 00:11

Comments
  #2  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 06:00
thincom2000 thincom2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Ted
So how is this copy & paste thread an improvement over orban's Plugin Based Template Cache?

Looking at the code, this seems to have more direct play with the opcode cache. What does this do and what are the advantages?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 06:07
lendy lendy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Cache Not with file,It use:
one of:
1. APC
2. eAccelerator
3. Turck MMCache
4. Xcache

put/get template with memory,Reduce MYSQL query and DISK IO.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 09:47
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Real name: Josh
Thanks for this!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 09:51
Zia's Avatar
Zia Zia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Z.R.
wel....
whats the diff. between urs & orbans hack?
orbans one template cacher ..work with or w/p apc/ea/......
but with any opcode cacher it works fine....

what does ur hack will do?
cached in memory or accelerated php? or cache data store ?

Version 0.0.3:
12th Feb 2007, add Compress Template.
umm that means this hack will compress templates too? in the screen shot there are no option are shown for compress.

kinda 2-in-1 ?

Last edited by Zia; 12 Feb 2007 at 10:00.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 11:10
lendy lendy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Originally Posted by Zia View Post
wel....
whats the diff. between urs & orbans hack?
orbans one template cacher ..work with or w/p apc/ea/......
but with any opcode cacher it works fine....

what does ur hack will do?
cached in memory or accelerated php? or cache data store ?



umm that means this hack will compress templates too? in the screen shot there are no option are shown for compress.

kinda 2-in-1 ?
1.work good ea(mmcache)>xcache>apc

2.cached in memory with ea/apc/...

3.compress: you can enable/disable,suggest:enable;not 2-in-1,addition function.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 12:58
thincom2000 thincom2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Ted
I see. It uses less disk space when combined with a cache than orban's.

Sadly, I am not running a cache on my site, and I'm not on a dedicated so I can't just go ahead and install one.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 15:55
bollie's Avatar
bollie bollie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Zele (Belgium)
Real name: ivan
Fatal error: APC not installed in /admincp/options.php(1027) : eval()'d code on line 13
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 16:14
Zia's Avatar
Zia Zia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Z.R.
Thnx for ur reply.
umm we are on a vps with 256Mb of guaranteed ram(+ 1gb Burst ram)

atm eAcclerteator installed with 32mb of Ram. No other compressor & cacheing hack (orban) installed.But its been written at vb.com any of php cacher(eA/APC/Xcache) with orbans hack..more script will be cached in memory.
(Orban using Xcache) .
i said 2-in-1 means cache + compress.Previous Hellcat & Trigunflame relased 2 compressor .Thats why i said 2 hacks in 1.

Reduce MYSQL query and DISK IO.
Orbans one : save 1 query in every page .If "cache template separately" enabled n it demand any opcode cacher.

what about its query saving status?

in fact last few weeks im just passing my time with this shit cache & data store cache.
(lot to be learn).Lots of option.lots of opinion.

So im just trying to figure which one i will use with XCache (will move to Xcache.)

2. There is an option to have certain templates saved seperatly to memory.
Built in option ? or custom?
Thanx in Advance.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 16:25
Zia's Avatar
Zia Zia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Z.R.
Originally Posted by bollie View Post
Fatal error: APC not installed in /admincp/options.php(1027) : eval()'d code on line 13

yes...it will not work..unless u got any opcode cache installed
like : Apc or Xcache or eAcclereator or MMcache.
or maybe u dont have APC. But others

if ur on a shard host..request ur host provider to install any of them (maybe cant)
if ur on dedicated or vps u can install them...

or u can go for orbans one.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 16:30
treasureman treasureman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: eaccelerator_get() in /home/forum/public_html/includes/template_cache.php on line 65

I have eaccelerator installed and I am on a dedicated server.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 17:25
Zia's Avatar
Zia Zia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Z.R.
Originally Posted by treasureman View Post
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: eaccelerator_get() in /home/forum/public_html/includes/template_cache.php on line 65

I have eaccelerator installed and I am on a dedicated server.

ahha....its a real probs then...

lets wait for his reply
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 18:06
projectego's Avatar
projectego projectego is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Real name: Steve
Awesome! Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12 Feb 2007, 18:27
Sofia Sofia is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Sofia
Thanks, Lendy
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13 Feb 2007, 01:29
lendy lendy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Originally Posted by bollie View Post
Fatal error: APC not installed in /admincp/options.php(1027) : eval()'d code on line 13
APC not installed
Please install APC or select other
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:45.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: