Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Exclude Forums From external.php Details »
Exclude Forums From external.php
Mod Version: 1.00, by echamberlain (Member) echamberlain is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (10 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 77
Released: 04 Aug 2007 Last Update: 04 Aug 2007 Downloads: 461
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

Ever wanted to exclude some of your forums from the external.php output, without having to add and maintain a huge include list?

Now you can, this mod adds two attributes to the external.php query string.
  • excludeids is a comma delimited string of forums to exclude from the external.php output.
  • notitleids=1 will not list all the included forum ids in the RSS feed title.
Why was this mod created and how is it used?

We redirect all our feed requests to feedburner and use it to serve all our forum feeds. We have a feed for each of our individual forums and a general feed for the entire site. Recently we added some commercial forums and don't want to clutter the feed with the commercial content, so we needed to exclude two forums. Our forum feed string now looks like:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

How does this mod work?

This mod uses the hooks in external.php to add the new settings without the need for custom code modifications.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 20 Aug 2007, 20:54
nfn nfn is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Thanks for this Mod.
I am the one who asked for this here and here!

This is special great if you have forums that are "feed by feeds"

Here is my contribution so you don't have to add or change any query string in external.php


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Done!

Installed

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21 Aug 2007, 10:58
nfn nfn is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
One more note, you can add


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


in the Plugin PHP Code to hide the ID of you forums.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 25 Sep 2007, 15:22
NeutralizeR NeutralizeR is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
notitleids=1 still lists id's in the titles for me. It's the last forum created, is this the reason?

Is there a way to automatically exclude a specific forum from the feed without changing the original url?
__________________
MsXLabs Forum
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06 Oct 2007, 22:15
Cybertims Cybertims is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Real name: Paul
Is it possible to feed forums that have no guest access, I want to share a staff room on two seperate forums, so a feed to and from each seems to be the answer.....is it possible though>

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 18 Nov 2007, 03:56
mexicanpizza mexicanpizza is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
echamberlain, nice work, thanks! Any idea how to write a mod to INCLUDE specific THREADS?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 19 Dec 2007, 18:15
zmmmzz zmmmzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05 Feb 2008, 22:01
Eq4bits Eq4bits is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
What if I want to exclude ALL but one forum? Sort of the opposite of what this mod does...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05 Feb 2008, 22:28
echamberlain's Avatar
echamberlain echamberlain is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Eric
Instructions for creating feeds for individual forums is in the vBulletin documentation.
__________________
Eric Chamberlain
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 30 Apr 2008, 11:24
smestas smestas is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
I'm sorry if this is obvious, but will this work OK in 3.7?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02 May 2008, 15:54
nfn nfn is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
mine is working!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03 May 2008, 21:52
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
I've added the above $vbulletin->GPC['notitleids'] = 1; to the plugin code, and it is still out putting all the forum id's!

any idea?
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04 May 2008, 23:31
nfn nfn is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Here is my plugin:

Hook: esternaš_start
$vbulletin->GPC['excludeids'] = 'X,Y,Z';
$vbulletin->GPC['notitleids'] = 1;
$vbulletin->GPC['lastpost'] = 1;
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 20 Aug 2008, 00:15
zmmmzz zmmmzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
is this working in 3.7.2?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 30 Aug 2008, 05:32
Ingmar Ingmar is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Thank you echamberlain and nice contribution nfn!

*clicks installed*
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 20 Sep 2008, 10:46
ColinP ColinP is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Hi, I've just installed this and it works brilliantly. Just one issue - the notitleids parameter has no effect. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: