Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Dropdown Menu box for Links/Urls Details »
Dropdown Menu box for Links/Urls
Mod Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive (Designer) UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.0 RC 2 Rating: (3 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 26
Released: 31 Dec 2008 Last Update: 04 Jan 2009 Downloads: 265
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

As a result of this post http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...82#post1697782

I've come up with a small modification that will allow admins to include a small dropdown box in the forum discription. With this mod you will be able to add a few or hundreds of urls and links without filling up your forum.




This is really easy, all you need to do is to copy the following code to notepad on your PC and save it as subnav.js


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

or you can just download the zip file

then you need to upload the subnav.js file to your forums root directory.

The next stage is the code where you edit your urls etc...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Within that code you need to edit your urls and description in the option values


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I've only done 4 in the above but you can add as little or as many as you need by simply adding more option values as in the code above.

Once you've saved your edit, you can upload it to a forum, what i did was to create a new forum called "Quick Links" and then paste all of that code into the Forum Description.

Thats all there is to it, Feel free to experiment with this and remember to post a link here if you want to show off your new dropbox.

Enjoy



*****************************UPDATE**********************************
4th Jan 2009

Please find below an .xml file, This is the Menubox done within a Module for vBa

It's the actual module with the default url still in place. (You need to edit these - Unless you want a link to my site )
Anyone with vBa3 can upload it via the vBa control panel.
Lower versions of vBa may need to edit the .xml file.
REMEMBER you still need to upload the subnav.js file to your forum root

Many Thanks to Mal for this Code

Enjoy
*****************************UPDATE**********************************

12 January 2009

To Open in new Browser Window

To get the link to open in a new browser window, what you do is add the target="_blank" attribute to your link tag, like this in your Menu Links area

<option value="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk" target="_blank">UKBusinesslive Store</option>

If you do that to the ones that you want to open in a new window, then you don't navigate away from your site



Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	page22.png
Views:	109
Size:	47.8 KB
ID:	91483   Click image for larger version

Name:	page23.png
Views:	185
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	91484  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Moderation Menu in Quick Links dropdown Staxed vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 2 05 Feb 2007 18:20
Removing arrows from dropdown menu links SleekSkins vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 7 04 Nov 2006 13:06

Comments
  #2  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 13:51
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Reserved

Please don't forget to click Installed, and if you use it, show us a link to your dropdown box

Last edited by UKBusinessLive; 31 Dec 2008 at 17:13.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 18:05
Stromba's Avatar
Stromba Stromba is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
well thank you verry much i love it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 18:47
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by Stromba View Post
well thank you verry much i love it
Thank you Sir, Hope it works for you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03 Jan 2009, 09:37
lenzo lenzo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Can you take this one step further and set up user defined links that you add to the drop down menu?

I tried getting someone to do this before with no luck (see the link below).

http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30095

I enclosed the same file, so you can try it out. If you can get it working properly, you can release it as a mod with my permission. I just need someone to take it to the next step. Anybody out there that can do it...
Attached Files
File Type: zip User Links 1.0.0.zip (5.7 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03 Jan 2009, 10:19
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by lenzo View Post
Can you take this one step further and set up user defined links that you add to the drop down menu?

I tried getting someone to do this before with no luck (see the link below).

http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30095

I enclosed the same file, so you can try it out. If you can get it working properly, you can release it as a mod with my permission. I just need someone to take it to the next step. Anybody out there that can do it...
I'll take a look for you lenzo, but i've not had much experiance with vbadvanced, bear with me
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04 Jan 2009, 15:21
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
*****************************UPDATE**********************************
4th Jan 2009

Please find below an .xml file, This is the Menubox done within a Module for vBa

It's the actual module with the default url still in place. (You need to edit these - Unless you want a link to my site )
Anyone with vBa3 can upload it via the vBa control panel.
Lower versions of vBa may need to edit the .xml file.
REMEMBER you still need to upload the subnav.js file to your forum root

Many Thanks to Mal for this Code

Enjoy
*****************************UPDATE**********************************
Attached Files
File Type: xml quicklinks-VBA Module.xml (1.0 KB, 25 views)

Last edited by UKBusinessLive; 04 Jan 2009 at 15:27.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 05:54
RedeemedWarrior's Avatar
RedeemedWarrior RedeemedWarrior is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Richard R
excellent!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 06:07
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by RedeemedWarrior View Post
excellent!
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 06:22
RedeemedWarrior's Avatar
RedeemedWarrior RedeemedWarrior is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Richard R
anyway this could be used to allow multiple dropdowns?

like for several sections
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 07:51
blind-eddie's Avatar
blind-eddie blind-eddie is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Real name: Tim
Originally Posted by lenzo View Post
Can you take this one step further and set up user defined links that you add to the drop down menu?

I tried getting someone to do this before with no luck (see the link below).

http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30095

I enclosed the same file, so you can try it out. If you can get it working properly, you can release it as a mod with my permission. I just need someone to take it to the next step. Anybody out there that can do it...

I have tried many time to do what you are trying to do, but I couldn't write a product for it.
So I made mine with manual edits. Works for me & you can easily easily add it as a vba template module. Try to get it to work with what you have, Good Luck

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=185071




By the way, UKBusinessLive, Thank you for this add on, it will come in handy.
__________________
LONG LIVE 3.8 SERIES
National Arcade Competition Club- NACC All arcade edits will work on vb4.
Check out my heavily modified ibproarcade with over 50,000 games for you, free of charge!
Exclusive arcade addons, edits and skins were made by stangger5 owner of Next Level Arcade
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 17:07
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by RedeemedWarrior View Post
anyway this could be used to allow multiple dropdowns?

like for several sections
You can use it in as many forums as you want, You can create a quick link box at the top of each forum if you wanted to
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 17:07
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by blind-eddie View Post

By the way, UKBusinessLive, Thank you for this add on, it will come in handy.
Your welcome
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 18:31
RedeemedWarrior's Avatar
RedeemedWarrior RedeemedWarrior is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Richard R
Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
You can use it in as many forums as you want, You can create a quick link box at the top of each forum if you wanted to
really? when i tried it they appear to be working yet when you hit go it goes to only the first link on the first menu
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07 Jan 2009, 19:19
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by RedeemedWarrior View Post
really? when i tried it they appear to be working yet when you hit go it goes to only the first link on the first menu
Hi

Are you sure you have the correct Menu entries


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Just make sure you have them as shown or send them to me in a PM and i'll take a look for you, I'm not gonna rest tonight until your Sorted

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:10.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: