Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Live Topic - AJAX Details »
Live Topic - AJAX
Mod Version: 1.07b, by Coders Shack (Contributor) Coders Shack is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (11 votes - 4.55 average) Installs: 106
Released: 14 Jan 2009 Last Update: 01 Mar 2009 Downloads: 750
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Is in Beta Stage  

. . . . . . . . Brought to you by scriptasy.com

Live Demo:
Live Topic 1.07b Demo (you must be logged in, and the topic must be "live")


Videos: 1.00b 1.06b

watch the damn videos... ^_^
Description:
This product is different from anything you have seen before, it raises the bar for forums. It will make your forums much more interactive, and also reduce server load.

Technical Details:
If a thread has been posted in X seconds then its now Live, if other users are viewing the Live topic and are on the last page they will experience a clean ajax experience while talking to other members. Once the thread is older than X seconds its no longer Live and it will now act like a normal thread. Also if a user edits one of their posts that's inside of the thread, it will be updated too so there is no longer a reason to ever have to refresh.

There is also logic for the viewer, the viewer of the thread has to be in an active state to see responses. An active user state is determined upon the users actions, if no actions were made in X seconds then the user is marked as inactive.

Also you may wonder why this could save your server bandwidth and CPU. If a user is refreshing to talk to another members the queries on a normal thread load are way more intense than the ajax call that this modification makes. So if you have 5 people talking to each other none of them have to refresh the page, all they are doing is simple page requests and one intense request when there has actual change.

You can test Live Topic with two users, you will see how amaizing this is... And probably spontaneously combust.

Found a bug? Want to request a feature?
Live Topic - Project Manager
Installation:
This is take less than 3 minutes to install, takes longer to notice its amazing feature. (you need multiple people to be active in the same topic)

Works With (FF2, FF3, IE6, IE7, IE8, SF2, SF3, CHROME):
vBulletin [3.7.4] (have not tested it with other 3.7.X versions)

for vBulletin [3.8.X] go here

INCOMPATIBLE HACKS:
Versions:
1.04b
fixes
javascript error for guests
fixed live topic activation (first poster to raise a dead topic)
changes
auto quick reply focus after post
1.05b
fixes
css flaw

js error for unsupported browsers (random)


fixed chrome issue
ideas
edit notification - thanks to nso

rebuilding some of the original logic to hopefully prevent product conflicts

1.06b
fixes
fixed a little javascript issue that had to do with displaying posts

uses GPC cleaner now
changes
limit the number of ajax posts on the live topic (example 40) and fade them away.

changed the way the hooks are used

tightened up everything a bit

1.07b
fixes
fixed a bug where the live topic notification always making an ajax call
changes
support user ignore list
changed the way the javascript logic worked (hopefully there are less compatibly issues) added support for IE6 and IE8
1.10
...

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 5.png
Views:	443
Size:	33.7 KB
ID:	95279  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Live Topic Coders Shack vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 1242 01 Apr 2014 14:26
Add-On Releases [AJAX] Live Search mad@Max vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 267 06 Jun 2012 19:16
Add-On Releases Live Search 1.0 (AJAX) coderphp vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 141 14 Jan 2011 20:35

Comments
  #2  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 02:55
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
Things I am required to tell you i guess:
  • installs are tracked (upon install track.scriptasy.com is pinged, it just tracks installs not uninstalls or anything else)
Fixes for incompatible mods:
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/

Last edited by Coders Shack; 01 Mar 2009 at 20:30.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 02:58
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
i only have a 3.7.4 board up and running, if you have variations of 3.7.x feel free to try it out. If there are any issues or if there are none, please give me a heads up
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 03:44
inciarco's Avatar
inciarco inciarco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Thumbs up

Great Mod. I'm Amazed of what I saw on the Demo Video. I'll test it on vB373 and I'll tell you how it Works.

Congratulations, is a Great Mod.

Thank You For Sharing it.

My Best Regards.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 04:21
inciarco's Avatar
inciarco inciarco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Question

I'll test it when I have some Forumers on my Board to Post simultaneous Posts.

I've tried to test it with two accounts on my same computer but didn't worked that way, why?

I have a question:

- Will Guests also view the Refresh of the Posts?

And perhaps a suggestion for next release:

- Could you please add Usergroup permissions for those who can enjoy this behaviour? I think that for Guests, Banned, Not Confirmed, and Users in other low level Groups, should not enjoy this, but Users in more Active Usergroups would definitely Appreciate this Mod; would be nice for Admins to decide who can use it and who can't.

My Best Regards; once I have my Testing Results I'll share them with you.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 04:27
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
Guests don't see the updates it has to be a logged in user.

I do plan on adding features like the ones you have listed, but unfortunately for now all of your members will have to be treated as equals :P
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 04:43
ptwiggens ptwiggens is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
I am getting this error when I try to edit my post.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 04:52
inciarco's Avatar
inciarco inciarco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Question

Originally Posted by ptwiggens View Post
I am getting this error when I try to edit my post.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
I Confirm this Error, I'm getting exactly the same one on my Board.

Disabling the Mod for now until Correction/Solution of this Bug; Quick Edit seems to Work but Advanced Editor Displays that DataBase Error.

My Best Regards.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 04:53
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
Originally Posted by ptwiggens View Post
I am getting this error when I try to edit my post.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
can you PM me the exact error without replacements in the SQL
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 04:55
ptwiggens ptwiggens is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Originally Posted by inciarco View Post
I Confirm this Error, I'm getting exactly the same one on my Board.

Disabling the Mod for now until Correction/Solution of this Bug; Quick Edit seems to Work but Advanced Editor Displays that DataBase Error.

My Best Regards.

I get it with both quick edit and advanced.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 04:58
inciarco's Avatar
inciarco inciarco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Question

Originally Posted by Coders Shack View Post
can you PM me the exact error without replacements in the SQL
Is that Edit Function working on your Forum, Coders Shack? (Not the Quick Edit, but the Advanced Editor one)

My Best Regards, I Hope this can be Solved.


Last edited by inciarco; 14 Jan 2009 at 05:11.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 04:59
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
Originally Posted by Coders Shack View Post
can you PM me the exact error without replacements in the SQL
haha yea you guys are right, my bad

its because you have a table prefix... ill add support (i have done this a few times already today lol... nothing serious)
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 05:05
furst furst is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I've been waiting for something like this for a while. Thanks for putting this together and I hope you make good on bringing this hack to a real polished level.

Marked as installed but I'll wait for it to come out of beta before I actually try it.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 05:05
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
redownload the product and just reinstall the product xml
__________________
resume: http://chadscira.com/
linkedin: http://www.linkedin.com/in/chadscira
elance (request a proposal): http://icodeforlove.elance.com/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 05:09
inciarco's Avatar
inciarco inciarco is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Question

I confirm, Quick Edit shows the Edit Message but when Saving or going to Advanced Editor the Error Occur:

Database error in vBulletin 3.7.3:

Invalid SQL:
UPDATE `post` SET `lastedit` = UNIX_TIMESTAMP() WHERE `post`.`postid` = 35215 LIMIT 1;

MySQL Error : Table 'zzznameofdatabase.post' doesn't exist
Error Number : 1146
Request Date : Wednesday, January 14th 2009 @ 01:03:16 AM
Error Date : Wednesday, January 14th 2009 @ 01:03:17 AM
Script : http://zzzwebsite/editpost.php?do=up...t&postid=35215
Referrer : http://zzzwebsite/showthread.php?p=35215#post35215
IP Address : zzz.zzz.zzz.zzz
Username : zzzusername
Classname : vB_Database
MySQL Version : 5.0.51a-community
Perhaps on "zzznameofdatabase.post" the Prefix of the Table "post" is missing on the Code?

My Best Regards.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:25.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: