Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 26 Jul 2009, 21:47
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
vBulletin.org using version 3.6.12?

I just noticed this in the vBulletin.org footer:

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Why is vB.org so far behind the current releases?
  #2  
Old 26 Jul 2009, 22:11
cheat-master30's Avatar
cheat-master30 cheat-master30 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Information Classified
Real name: cheat-master30
Apparently they said it takes ages to upgrade with all the modifications they've made, but I personally say it's just making vBulletin look bad, and should be a required fix when at least vBulletin 4 comes out.
__________________
Proud vBulletin supporter (cheat-master30 at official forum)
DS Ultimate- A Great Nintendo DS forum-
My Nintendo DS forum covering Mario Kart DS, Super Mario 64 DS and the like. Powered by the amazing vBulletin 3.7 software.
  #3  
Old 26 Jul 2009, 22:28
gamerfu's Avatar
gamerfu gamerfu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 台灣,&
Real name: 海富富
I read a lot of users reference the vBulltein sites when they are making an upgrade decision.

Most people I still read on the main site say that if vBulletin did not do it, why should we upgrade.

The percived notion is that vBulletin will still make updates for 3.6.x series if something is hackable and will post update because of vBulletin.org.
  #4  
Old 26 Jul 2009, 22:34
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
That all seems pretty lame to me. Hardly a showcase for the product.
  #5  
Old 26 Jul 2009, 22:45
R1lover's Avatar
R1lover R1lover is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northern Ca
That's what happens when you hack something beyong the ability to duplicate it.. lol

Pretty sad imo.... that and the fact that some of the people involved in the old hacks are not around too.... either way, it's not a good image or a very good direction of the patch vb seems to be taking.

--------------- Added 26 Jul 2009 at 22:46 ---------------

and the fact that the message above took over 10 second to post after hitting submit... pretty sad

Last edited by R1lover; 26 Jul 2009 at 22:46. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
  #6  
Old 26 Jul 2009, 22:56
GSeybold GSeybold is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I was just thinking this same thing a few days ago and my first thought was how come they haven't upgraded for security purpose if anything. I'm sure they've done all the security stuff though but it does look kind of bad.
  #7  
Old 26 Jul 2009, 23:32
KevinL KevinL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Or they are waiting for vb4...like they stated in the other 43873423738742378764 threads with the same topic.

No real need to update something if you are not going to use the features....like the new profiles. Why go through the trouble?

Now, a new 'generation' maybe something different, which is probably why they said they were waiting.
  #8  
Old 26 Jul 2009, 23:33
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
There are many threads on the subject already, please read them before posting the same question again.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:37.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: