Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
AME3 - Auto Media Embeding and Video Extender Details »
AME3 - Auto Media Embeding and Video Extender
Mod Version: 3.0.1, by The Geek (Coder) The Geek is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.0 Rating: (97 votes - 4.72 average) Installs: 1361
Released: 21 Dec 2009 Last Update: 17 Jan 2010 Downloads: 10171
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files External Content  

From the makers of Smooth and Jazz comes the singing sensation my mom has been waiting months for:

AME3. Bigger. Badder. Bestest.

NOTE ABOUT vB4.0.3: ------------------------------------------------------------

vBulletin 4.0.3 has changed the way video codes are handled and in the process, inadvertently broke AME3. I have submitted a bug report and believe that the issue will be quickly resolved. There is a manual fix you can apply for 4.0.3 here in the interim.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AME3 is the sequel to the multi award winning AME 1x and AME 2x systems. AME3. This time, its different.
AME3 does 3 things:
  • It allows users to simply paste URLs into their message without having to use the video bbcode or video popup box.
  • It allows you to add, edit and customise the video definitions that ship with vB4
  • It allows you to import community created definitions to extend the system in ways you otherwise couldn't.
Now you can use AME anywhere you can use video bbcode: posts, blogs, visitor messages, the CMS, etc...

Note that I am releasing this early for beta testing and general feedback. There is currently a bug in RC2, RC4 and 4.0.0 that will prevent AME from working however there is a workaround posted below.

I have written a pretty comprehensive readme and attached it seperatly to this post. I suspect both this post and the readme will get updated as AME3 becomes finalised.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	wysiwyg.jpg
Views:	11384
Size:	179.5 KB
ID:	107851   Click image for larger version

Name:	postbit.jpg
Views:	9152
Size:	159.5 KB
ID:	107852  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases Digital Sith's AMEs - ADULT Media Definitions Digital Sith vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 66 08 Sep 2015 23:44
Add-On Releases DJ's AME (Auto Media Embedding) XML Media Definitions (Third Time's the Charm) Digital Jedi Modification Graveyard 828 10 Mar 2010 06:45

  #61  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 20:51
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by BBR-APBT View Post
Yup youtube and others work just not photobucket.
Edit the message, paste another URL in it as well (i.e. a YOUtube) and save it.

FWIW, AME has done its thing there which is: take a URL and turn it into [video=xxx;xxx]url[/video]

vBulletin really does the rest (and is doing so on my setup) so I am kind of stumped.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 20:53
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by halkum View Post
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RWbv5uK9b4k

Also, this is a thread that was posted PRIOR to this mod being installed. Unsure if it affects threads posted after mod installed.

Testing now.
AME just checks your urls to see if they could actually be videos. If they are, AME changes the URL to [video]url[/video] and passes it off to vBulletin to handle the rest. Are you sure you don't maybe have the old version of AME still installed and enabled? Maybe some other mod?
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:02
halkum halkum is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Ok, tested and it failed. Turned off the file Cache
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:05
BBR-APBT's Avatar
BBR-APBT BBR-APBT is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
Edit the message, paste another URL in it as well (i.e. a YOUtube) and save it.

FWIW, AME has done its thing there which is: take a URL and turn it into [video=xxx;xxx]url[/video]

vBulletin really does the rest (and is doing so on my setup) so I am kind of stumped.
I just did as you said the you tube video showed up but not the photobucket one.

It does convert the url to bbcode but the embed code never shows up at all.
Tested on Firefox and IE. When you view source nothing at all is there but the text no embed code at all
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:12
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by BBR-APBT View Post
I just did as you said the you tube video showed up but not the photobucket one.

It does convert the url to bbcode but the embed code never shows up at all.
Tested on Firefox and IE. When you view source nothing at all is there but the text no embed code at all
That tells me the definition isn't in the bbcode_video template which was an issue fixed in beta 2b.
Check your bbcode_video template to see if photobucket is mentioned at all. If not, redownload the beta 2b package and replace your admincp/ame.php file. Then re-save your photobucket definition, redit and save the post.

Thanks again for your help!

Originally Posted by halkum View Post
Ok, tested and it failed. Turned off the file Cache
Can you elaborate? What failed?
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:14
halkum halkum is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Sorry, my reply was cut off. It still gave me the white page. Then I turned off the file cache and it works perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:15
ajhalls ajhalls is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Is there any way of getting this to work with Flowplayer or JW Mediaplayer? I have a bunch of longer videos hosted locally I would like to stream on the site.
*Installed without problems*
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:19
BBR-APBT's Avatar
BBR-APBT BBR-APBT is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
That tells me the definition isn't in the bbcode_video template which was an issue fixed in beta 2b.
Check your bbcode_video template to see if photobucket is mentioned at all. If not, redownload the beta 2b package and replace your admincp/ame.php file. Then re-save your photobucket definition, redit and save the post.

Thanks again for your help!
Well theres the problem.

bbcode_video does not mention photobucket.

The only file available is AME3 beta2a.zip (21.2 KB, 22 downloads) so I dont have access to beta 2b.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:22
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by halkum View Post
Sorry, my reply was cut off. It still gave me the white page. Then I turned off the file cache and it works perfectly.
Gotcha. Have you verified the path? Can you post the contents of the ame_prep.php file that sits in the cache folder? If so, please do it in php bbcode. The default path is yourforums/ame/ame_prep.php
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:23
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by BBR-APBT View Post
Well theres the problem.

bbcode_video does not mention photobucket.

The only file available is AME3 beta2a.zip (21.2 KB, 22 downloads) so I dont have access to beta 2b.
Doh! I meant 2a
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:24
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by ajhalls View Post
Is there any way of getting this to work with Flowplayer or JW Mediaplayer? I have a bunch of longer videos hosted locally I would like to stream on the site.
*Installed without problems*
I could take a look during beta, but can't promise anything. I normally like to keep definition requests and releases out of the main AME release page as it can get quite unruly.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:26
rootsxrocks rootsxrocks is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
DO I need to uninstall the AME from my 3.84 before installing this ?
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:29
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by rootsxrocks View Post
DO I need to uninstall the AME from my 3.84 before installing this ?
Check out the readme, the short of it is: Yes, but don't revert your AME codes. INstall AME3 then use the rebuild tools to convert your old AME codes.

HTHs
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:30
BBR-APBT's Avatar
BBR-APBT BBR-APBT is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
Doh! I meant 2a
But But I want 2b now.



Working great now that I re-uploaded the adminCP file.


Seems to be working all working 100% now.

Thanks for all the support on a un-supported modification.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 22 Dec 2009, 21:35
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by BBR-APBT View Post
But But I want 2b now.



Working great now that I re-uploaded the adminCP file.


Seems to be working all working 100% now.

Thanks for all the support on a un-supported modification.
lol. Glad to hear it - you were confuzzling me

Thanks for helping me get AME to the stage where it doesn't need support
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:45.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: