Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB 4 - Fixed Main Table Width Details »
vB 4 - Fixed Main Table Width
Mod Version: 1.00, by amjadz4 (Member) amjadz4 is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.2 Rating: (20 votes - 4.90 average) Installs: 144
Released: 30 Dec 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 2
Not Supported Auto-Template Re-usable Code Translations  

Okay so some (most - so far) of the vb 4 themes come only with one width i.e 100% which fills up the screen. Like me, many want to match their website and want the width of the main table to be fixed. So how can we adjust the width of the CMS, Blog and Forum all together?

vBulletin 3 had an easy way to do it, under Main CSS of the template. But in vB 4 its a bit different. Follow these steps to adjust the width of your vbulletin.

1. Log into AdminCP
2. Navigate to Styles & Templates > Your style > StyleVars
3. In the search field type in doc_width (under Common).
4. Now set the Units and Size as per your requirement, and Save. (default: auto)

That's it!

Now if at all for some reason your theme is not center aligned after adjusting the width do this:
  • Type doc_margin in the search field.
  • Set Left & Right to auto
Now you have your CMS, Blog and Forum center aligned to the width of your choice!

If you did this to your forum, please click MARK AS INSTALLED.

Thank you!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 30 Dec 2009, 13:39
Dr.osamA's Avatar
Dr.osamA Dr.osamA is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Syrie
Real name: Dr.osama
installed

thanxx
________
Sc replay upload

Last edited by Dr.osamA; 04 Apr 2011 at 00:40.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30 Dec 2009, 15:05
bilgicc bilgicc is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Thank you. installed.
__________________
Keyfi Müzik - Müzisyen Forumları
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31 Dec 2009, 10:52
haothiencz's Avatar
haothiencz haothiencz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
You just can make a style fixed or fluid that way.

It's good with default style but for some style with images it require also adding

value repeat-x for the bg and forumhead etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31 Dec 2009, 11:18
amjadz4's Avatar
amjadz4 amjadz4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Originally Posted by haothiencz View Post
You just can make a style fixed or fluid that way.

It's good with default style but for some style with images it require also adding

value repeat-x for the bg and forumhead etc...
well true, but once you set your theme to be of a fixed size and in case any image go out of the table for example a large forum header image you can either use dynamic resizing using timthumb.php or just resize the image. But this is very unlikely and happens rarely. Theme designers should make their theme compatible for every scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Jan 2010, 01:03
b6gm6n's Avatar
b6gm6n b6gm6n is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Ant
didn't work for me, actually after finding your thread after searching around for a simple way to make a fixed width skin for my site using just the new vB4 forum, after trying it on my local-machine I'm not gonna bother using it on my main site, it's horrible, i have been persistently put off by bugs and things not working... still cannot see my profile page, no errors, nothing i did wrong, you wanna start designing and get stuck in but this is just horrid, all those posts slamming vB for it's styles were right, i was really looking forward to producing something for my site but it looks like i'll have to wait a year or two for this to catch up... and while I'm here the default style is awful... well it's ok, but god no... sack it and start over the experiment didn't work

-b6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Jan 2010, 06:14
DataHero DataHero is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Thanks for the help. Marked as installed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 14:44
stable2 stable2 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Thank you for this - worked perfectly and prevented me from tearing my hair out!
*Installed*
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15 Jan 2010, 14:55
amjadz4's Avatar
amjadz4 amjadz4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Originally Posted by stable2 View Post
Thank you for this - worked perfectly and prevented me from tearing my hair out!
*Installed*
LoL, you are welcome!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21 Jan 2010, 09:16
Gnomie Gnomie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Hi I'm new here and new to VB I like the new version 4 !

Installed

Was trying to find that. However it has given another problem.

The text in each thread now aligns left and not 100% width of the text container.

Which style would i edit to get that 100% width in the text box?

If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be grand!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21 Jan 2010, 09:30
amjadz4's Avatar
amjadz4 amjadz4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Originally Posted by Gnomie View Post
Hi I'm new here and new to VB I like the new version 4 !

Installed

Was trying to find that. However it has given another problem.

The text in each thread now aligns left and not 100% width of the text container.

Which style would i edit to get that 100% width in the text box?

If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be grand!
Can you post a screenshot?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21 Jan 2010, 09:36
Gnomie Gnomie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
sure no problem. as you can see, the title isnt subject to the same issue. its like the main body text has been placed in a fixed width or less than 100% table.

so many style vars to search, its driving me nuts!

dont suppose anyone has any kind of cheat sheet with screen shots etc indicating the different style vars locations? i might have to make one
Attached Images
File Type: jpg forum1.jpg (78.5 KB, 280 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21 Jan 2010, 09:49
amjadz4's Avatar
amjadz4 amjadz4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Well you can see which style it is by adding this line to your config.php


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

right after the opening <?php line

and then view the source code of that page in your browser. you should see the template tags.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21 Jan 2010, 09:53
Gnomie Gnomie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
thanks ill give that a whirl

edit to add: its not this fix causing the issue above, i reset to stock style vars and templating and itt still happens. I have some work to do

Last edited by Gnomie; 21 Jan 2010 at 10:36.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21 Jan 2010, 10:03
kokotitokoko kokotitokoko is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
installed
__________________
Eslam Hero
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:32.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: