Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
[How-To] Disable double click on Reply buttons
cbiweb
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 229

Nova Scotia, Canada
by cbiweb cbiweb is offline 10 Feb 2010
Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average)

This article discusses code modifications made directly in the files, and will need to be done each time you upgrade vBulletin. If possible I will write a plugin when I get a chance, and this note and article will become irrelevant.


[How-To] Disable Double-Click On Reply Buttons

A lot of people agree that the new double-click functionality for the "Reply With Quote" and "+ Reply to Thread" buttons is not user friendly, and not a standard behavior for buttons on a web page. The biggest complaint is having to click twice to get to the regular Advanced editor.

It doesn't appear that the developers are going to change this soon, if ever, so until they do I went digging for a solution to bring back the familiar and very user friendly single-click action for these buttons.

Go to your clientscript folder, and open the vbulletin_quick_reply.js file. Look for this section of code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

In that section, comment out two of the lines as shown below. All you need to do is add the forward slashes that I've highlighted in red and blue:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The red commented line reverts the "Reply With Quote" button back to a single click, and takes you directly to the regular Advanced editor with the quoted post included. Note: Commenting out this line will also disable the regular "Reply" button from opening Quick Reply.

The blue commented line reverts the "+ Reply to Thread" buttons back to single click, which takes you directly to the Advanced editor.

One more thing, Multi-quote behavior depends on which line(s) you comment out.


If you ever want to use the default double-click behavior for either button, simply remove the two forward slashes that you added. And remember, until I create the plugin/product, you will need to make this change each time you upgrade your forums.

Last edited by cbiweb; 11 Feb 2010 at 00:44.. Reason: Corrected a mistake
Views: 8087
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 12 Feb 2010, 03:43
Switch3130's Avatar
Switch3130 Switch3130 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Awesome work just what I was looking for.
__________________
Do you need assistance with:
vBulletin installed, vBulletin upgraded, Mods installed, or a Custom skin made...
If so PM me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12 Feb 2010, 03:51
Merjawy's Avatar
Merjawy Merjawy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13 Feb 2010, 01:40
Switch3130's Avatar
Switch3130 Switch3130 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Would you mind sending me over the .js file with the updated changes? I tried making the changes and things didn't seem right.

Also when I searched for this "YAHOO.util.Event.on(anchors[i]" in the file to make the changes it wasn't found.

What is going on?
__________________
Do you need assistance with:
vBulletin installed, vBulletin upgraded, Mods installed, or a Custom skin made...
If so PM me.

Last edited by Switch3130; 13 Feb 2010 at 02:27.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13 Feb 2010, 12:19
cbiweb cbiweb is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by Switch3130 View Post
when I searched for this "YAHOO.util.Event.on(anchors[i]" in the file to make the changes it wasn't found.

What is going on?
The code is there, but if you downloaded the compressed version of the file it looks slightly different. You need to search for these two strings:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Comment them per my first post. Depending what result you want will determine which one(s) you comment out. (Yes, the first one has a curly brace but the second one does not. ) If it doesn't work for you, try adding a space before the comment lines, which worked for boatswife in post #11 below.

I only found out about the compressed version after I wrote the article, or I would've included it then.

Last edited by cbiweb; 06 Mar 2010 at 13:17. Reason: Revised instructions
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15 Feb 2010, 11:51
Switch3130's Avatar
Switch3130 Switch3130 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
After I made those changes I get errors on the thread page:

missing } in compound statement
[Break on this error] _tbody","hidden");vB_Editor[QR_EditorI...;return false}}var vB_QuickReply=true;
__________________
Do you need assistance with:
vBulletin installed, vBulletin upgraded, Mods installed, or a Custom skin made...
If so PM me.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 Feb 2010, 12:40
cbiweb cbiweb is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
That is strange. I've done it with the compressed and non-compressed versions of the file with no problems. Try again because it would be easy to make a mistake with the compressed file, being that it's all mushed together. PM me if you have further problems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21 Feb 2010, 11:29
BizAdventure BizAdventure is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I am curious if you got this working on 4.0.2 - I cannot find that information in that file - I find similarities, but not what is above.

I can paste the code, but it's awfully long.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21 Feb 2010, 20:28
cbiweb cbiweb is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Hey Biz, we meet again. As you know, I'm in the middle of reinstalling everything onto a new HD today, so I can't access my vBulletin projects to check on this for 4.0.2. But soon as I'm able, I will.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22 Feb 2010, 02:04
BizAdventure BizAdventure is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I will wait patiently, thank you!!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23 Feb 2010, 03:15
boatswife boatswife is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Patty
Originally Posted by cbiweb View Post
The code is there, but if you downloaded the compressed version of the file it looks slightly different. You need to search for these two strings:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Comment them per my first post. Depending what result you want will determine which one(s) you comment out.

I only found out about the compressed version after I wrote the article, or I would've included it then.

I had the compressed version and found this code. I put the // in front of both strings and it didn't do anything. I then put a space before the // in each string and it now works.

I don't have a clue if that's the technical thing to do, but it's working for me.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23 Feb 2010, 14:14
cbiweb cbiweb is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by BizAdventure View Post
I am curious if you got this working on 4.0.2 - I cannot find that information in that file - I find similarities, but not what is above.

I can paste the code, but it's awfully long.
I just checked the compressed and non-compressed versions of vbulletin_quick_reply.js for 4.0.2, and the same code is still there. Are you sure you checked the correct file? I ask because I spent a few minutes looking for the code in the wrong file myself, lol. But yes, nothing's changed in 4.0.2.

Originally Posted by boatswife View Post
I had the compressed version and found this code. I put the // in front of both strings and it didn't do anything. I then put a space before the // in each string and it now works.

I don't have a clue if that's the technical thing to do, but it's working for me.
It does makes sense, now that you bring it up. Never thought to mention that. Glad you figured it out.


Originally Posted by Switch3130 View Post
After I made those changes I get errors on the thread page:

missing } in compound statement
[Break on this error] _tbody","hidden");vB_Editor[QR_EditorI...;return false}}var vB_QuickReply=true;
Did you ever get this sorted?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24 Feb 2010, 22:43
as7apcool's Avatar
as7apcool as7apcool is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Thanks 4 good work
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25 Feb 2010, 03:51
DocEldridge DocEldridge is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Is there a way to change both the reply and reply with quote both to a single click?
__________________
http://liveFerrari.com
THE Ferrari discussion forum.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26 Feb 2010, 09:35
Cloughie Cloughie is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
This worked for me, good job.

Why VB introduced the double click thing is beyond me - its totally non web standard and so confusing for people.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:43.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: