Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02 May 2010, 22:08
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Arrow Some basic questions to sphinx

  1. I installed sphinx and I could see the search results.
  2. After some days I noticed that the vbulletin database table "vbsphinxsearch_queue" had thousands of entries.
  3. I was unsure if that was right and looked at the cronjobs. They were looking right.
  4. I then just run the every-10-minutes-cronjob /usr/local/sphinx/cron/delta.sh That took more than one hour and this time my life board went offline.
  5. As I could not take my board offline as I could not even get to forum.com/admincp, I shut down the /usr/local/sphinx/cron/delta.sh job while it was running by hitting STRG+C.
  6. My forum works good after that, also the sphinx search.
  7. But I can not execute /usr/local/sphinx/cron/delta.sh again, then I always get this error message:


    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


The forum runs now with the usual vbulletin search engine, but I'd like to know how I can setup sphinx search again
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 02 May 2010, 22:15
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So what is the first line in your file? And is it the correct path for you (I know I had to change it for my path to php).
__________________
Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03 May 2010, 08:21
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So what is the first line in your file? And is it the correct path for you (I know I had to change it for my path to php).
It is the #! path to php line and this line is the same as it was before when it was working. Furthermore, in the path to this directory there is a php file. First thing after looking at this error message was that I looked if the vbulletin-sphinx.php file was okay, and it is. Why is it a invalid "token" error?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03 May 2010, 14:04
sung sung is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Personally I just ran the vbulletin-sphinx.php script once and saved its output to a file. I don't see the point of calling PHP every time the indexer is run just to generate the same config file.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05 May 2010, 17:11
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
You are lucky, I cannot get it to run at all.

Sphinx 0.9.8-id64-release (r1371)
Copyright (c) 2001-2008, Andrew Aksyonoff

using config file '/usr/local/sphinx/etc/vbulletin-sphinx.php'...
ERROR: error executing '/usr/bin/php -q' in /usr/local/sphinx/etc/vbulletin-sphinx.php line 1 col 1.
__________________

Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05 May 2010, 17:28
pete_brady pete_brady is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
check that you edited the $myforumpath in vbulletin-sphinx.php, not the example $myforumpath path like i did.... doh
__________________
thumped.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05 May 2010, 19:52
CarlitoBrigante's Avatar
CarlitoBrigante CarlitoBrigante is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
The problem is indeed somewhere in the cronjob. Had the same issue Thorsten is reporting in a client's website (he is running litespeed web server). I am trying to look into the delta.sh file to see what could be causing this.

The token error means the PHP path on top is wrong... weird that at first it was running and now it is not running anymore!
__________________
Yes, that's only a nickname! - MagnetiCat.com - Professional development and administration, disaster recovery (also in desperate situations), PHP and Mobile App development.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05 May 2010, 20:18
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by CarlitoBrigante View Post
Had the same issue Thorsten is reporting in a client's website (he is running litespeed web server).
Just a short notice, it may not be because of the litespeed web server, I am running a stock directadmin (that is something like plesk or cpanel) 64bit configuration with apache etc. I have software raid1 but other than that my configuration is pretty usual. The high load is pretty strange as I have an i7 8GB with a less than one million post forum with usual less than 300 users online.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05 May 2010, 20:21
CarlitoBrigante's Avatar
CarlitoBrigante CarlitoBrigante is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Thorsten, may I ask you if you are running suphp or suexec to run php?
__________________
Yes, that's only a nickname! - MagnetiCat.com - Professional development and administration, disaster recovery (also in desperate situations), PHP and Mobile App development.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05 May 2010, 20:25
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by CarlitoBrigante View Post
Thorsten, may I ask you if you are running suphp or suexec to run php?
I am not so familiar with that, but here is what I found: I have seen mod_suexec on php-info. I did not see suphp on php-info.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05 May 2010, 20:46
CarlitoBrigante's Avatar
CarlitoBrigante CarlitoBrigante is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Gotcha, just trying to find a pattern in why this is happening. But the culprit seems to be the MySQL query.
__________________
Yes, that's only a nickname! - MagnetiCat.com - Professional development and administration, disaster recovery (also in desperate situations), PHP and Mobile App development.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05 May 2010, 21:05
ThorstenA's Avatar
ThorstenA ThorstenA is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
I imported from phpbb a long time ago, maybe its because of that?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05 May 2010, 21:11
CarlitoBrigante's Avatar
CarlitoBrigante CarlitoBrigante is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
No, once you imported into vBulletin, that makes no difference.

I would be interested in knowing how many people are having this problems vs those who are running Sphinx on vB4 without problems.
__________________
Yes, that's only a nickname! - MagnetiCat.com - Professional development and administration, disaster recovery (also in desperate situations), PHP and Mobile App development.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28 May 2010, 13:17
vauge vauge is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
I am having this issue as well.
__________________
Forum
Political Forums
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28 May 2010, 14:57
CarlitoBrigante's Avatar
CarlitoBrigante CarlitoBrigante is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
There is obviously something horribly wrong, but I would need to know if ALL websites with a significant amount of posts has this issue. Please guys/gals: if you have this problem, write here and post all details about your setup, including:

- PHP version
- MySQL version
- Web server

And, if possible, the host. I am seeing this happening in a host service that is very common among vB users.
__________________
Yes, that's only a nickname! - MagnetiCat.com - Professional development and administration, disaster recovery (also in desperate situations), PHP and Mobile App development.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:28.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: