Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Ban some words/links from using on the forum Details »
Ban some words/links from using on the forum
Mod Version: 1.2.1, by LordOfWAR_PC (Member) LordOfWAR_PC is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (3 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 55
Released: 23 Jan 2011 Last Update: 10 Feb 2011 Downloads: 241
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations  

Product was updated to version 1.2.1

Changelog v1.2.1 :
  • Fixed bug, when guests was able to read posts (with parsed bbcodes) even after option - "Disable BBCodes in all existing posts, which already include denied words/links" was enabled.

Changelog v1.2 :
  • Threads/Posts and Pm's titles will be checked for banned strings too.
  • Now it is possible to customize your own error message for every banned word/link/string.

Changelog v1.1 :
  • Now error message are provided with banned word/link which was used in users message. So users will know which word they must delete to continue.
  • All links are urldecoded before checking, so trick with posting urlencoded links will not work anymore.

____

In some time, every VB forum admin have an situation, when someone or some spam-bots, or groups of peoples starting writting every time same "bad" words or when they every time publishing a links on their web-sites. They think that referals from your site will help them to grow up in search systems and e.t.c.

Vbulletin have an normal autocensor, which can change some words to the "*****", but it allows to the users to write a post... Also after using autocensor, if sometimes we will want to disable it - all this links/words must be resaved in every post to see them again (because even after disabling autocensor - peoples will see same - "*******").

____

So... With using "BannedWords" plugin, you can ban/deny some words/links(or their parts) from using in new posts/pm's. Users will see an error after trying to add new reply/start new thread or so... (error with text that he used banned word. To be clear - I am used "word" as any string which can be an part of users message).

This plugin allows you to specify banned words, users and usergroups which will be ignored by plugin (let's say - situation, when we want to leave possibility to publish forbidden links for moderators and admins) and others options.

Plugin options (screenshot) - vBulletin Options->Banned Words Plugin Settings :


Error which users will see after creating messages with denied words (screenshot) :


If you want to customize error message for every banned word, you must make new vbphrase (for needed banned word) in Languages & Phrases->Phrase Manager->Add New Phrase :
  • Phrase Type=Error Messages
  • Product=BannedWords
  • Varname=AnyYourVarName
  • Text=AnyYourErrorMessage (your error message can contain this word - "!bword!",which will be replaced by banned word which cause the error.

After you will make new vbphrase, you must go into this plugin options and type your banned word and phrase name as shown in Example #2 :

somelink.com,my_error_vbphrase1

(Banned Word/Link and Phrase/Var name must be separated by comma).

___

If you will enable option with disabling bbcodes in all posts (with denied words), which was created recently, they (posts) will looks as shown in this screenshot (with disabled bbcodes) :


___

Also you can disable this product in any time, and all recently blocked words will be allowed and bbcodes in old posts with denied words will works automatically.

Product was tested on VB 3.8.6 and VB 4.0.1, but must works also on every VB 3 or 4 version...

____

How to install :

Just import xml file as usual VB product.

Uninstallation :

Just uninstall this product as any other VB product.

How to update :

Uninstall and then reinstall product (before that, it is recomended to save your old options into some place).

____

For multilanguage forums :

After installing of "Ban some words/links from using on the forum" product, you will be able to find and edit needed vbphrases :
  • bannedwords_error
  • setting_bannedwords_onoff_desc
  • setting_bannedwords_onoff_title
  • setting_bannedwords_list_desc
  • setting_bannedwords_list_title
  • setting_bannedwords_exception_usrgroups_desc
  • setting_bannedwords_exception_usrgroups_title
  • setting_bannedwords_exception_users_desc
  • setting_bannedwords_exception_users_title
  • setting_bannedwords_use_in_pm_desc
  • setting_bannedwords_use_in_pm_title
  • setting_bannedwords_disable_bb_in_exist_post_desc
  • setting_bannedwords_disable_bb_in_exist_post_title

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	OldPostWithBannedWords_AfterPlugin.jpg
Views:	1607
Size:	19.2 KB
ID:	126002   Click image for larger version

Name:	error.jpg
Views:	1453
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	126112   Click image for larger version

Name:	error2.jpg
Views:	169
Size:	45.8 KB
ID:	126113   Click image for larger version

Name:	Params_en.jpg
Views:	1447
Size:	406.8 KB
ID:	126152  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 28 Jan 2011, 16:06
Taurus1's Avatar
Taurus1 Taurus1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I am 100% sure I set it up correctly. So then there must be a conflict.
__________________
For custom designed Windows 7 Visual Styles/Themes, please visit CreativX!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 28 Jan 2011, 16:26
LordOfWAR_PC LordOfWAR_PC is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by Taurus1 View Post
I am 100% sure I set it up correctly. So then there must be a conflict.
1. Can you pls send to me in PM screenshot of options menu, or just text of banned words ? I just want to check them by myself...

2. Where you tried it ? I mean - on creating new message, new thread, new pm ? Did you tried others words/links ?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 29 Jan 2011, 12:49
BBF BBF is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Nadav Peretz
let's say that i banned the word "sex".
if some user want to replay / create new thread with the word "sex", it will delete his post automatically and show him error message?

another question, it is possible to define the mod to use the "original" vBulletin censor system?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 29 Jan 2011, 22:36
LordOfWAR_PC LordOfWAR_PC is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by BBF View Post
let's say that i banned the word "sex".
if some user want to replay / create new thread with the word "sex", it will delete his post automatically and show him error message?
It will not delete no any post... Plugin will check users text (after he will click on post button) and if there is no any denied words, then message will be created on the forum, otherwise user will see an error with asking to delete forbidden words/links from his message.

Originally Posted by BBF View Post
another question, it is possible to define the mod to use the "original" vBulletin censor system?
No, it is other plugin, it works separately from original censorship system. But I can add in future version, something like - changing banned text to some word (or chars, like ***) in exists messages...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09 Feb 2011, 19:23
MikeF MikeF is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Here here! This is a GREAT mod, but the BBCode thing is terrible. I have several problems with prior post blocking. Here's my scenario: We are trying to block:

imageshack.us
imageshack
image shack
91.216.122.223

Why? ImageShack has some 1/1000 problem where a phishing attack that says you have a virus on your computer pops up out of nowhere. So we want to prevent our members from accessing or posting about ImageShack. That IP is also the phishing site.

We can prevent NEW posts/threads/PMs about this, but
  • Guests can still see the fully translated BBCode
  • Outputting raw BBCode just makes people more interested anyway

I highly suggest you fix the first problem, and secondly, you suggest putting up a block message in replacement of the specific text/URL that has already been posted. This would help people understand what is going on, and that the forum itself is not experiencing a strange error.

Otherwise, nice one. If you continue to develop this mod, it could be considered as MOTM and many people will adopt it as a standard for their site.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10 Feb 2011, 15:59
LordOfWAR_PC LordOfWAR_PC is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by MikeF View Post
  • Guests can still see the fully translated BBCode
Thanks a lot for your message . Bug is fixed now. I am updated plugin to v.1.2.1 :

Changelog v1.2.1 :
  • Fixed bug, when guests was able to read posts (with parsed bbcodes) even after option - "Disable BBCodes in all existing posts, which already include denied words/links" was enabled.

___

For others suggestions - I will think about them later. Maybe I will add some field, where admins will be able to write link to some image (or vbphrase with html support will be better ?), which will replace banned word in non parsed post.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 25 Feb 2011, 21:36
netiforum netiforum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
http://vbsupport.org/forum/showpost....70&postcount=4
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 19 Mar 2011, 13:46
harpreetxi harpreetxi is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
dosen't work for me , can u help me ?

1) i imported
2) i went to settings> banned word > added domain.com on in 1st line
3) saved and went back to forum and created a thread
4) wrote domain.com in it and submitted and there was posted successfully.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 20 Mar 2011, 00:33
DeathRS's Avatar
DeathRS DeathRS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I installed it and works fine.

I was wondering if there is a way to exclude specific forums?

Can you do that?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 20 Mar 2011, 14:32
LordOfWAR_PC LordOfWAR_PC is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Russian chars must be supported too... but "strtolower" function which is used in my plugin, probably still not case sensitive for others codepages... In the next version I will try to use "mb_strtolower" with users codedpage, it will help with different codepages...

Originally Posted by harpreetxi View Post
dosen't work for me , can u help me ?

1) i imported
2) i went to settings> banned word > added domain.com on in 1st line
3) saved and went back to forum and created a thread
4) wrote domain.com in it and submitted and there was posted successfully.
If plugin already imported, then you must go to it's settings and :

1. Enable it.
2. Add needed bad words...
3. Check users which will be not blocked (Users/usergroups exception lists). If you added yourself into exception list, then forum will not block you...
4. Save settings.

Originally Posted by DeathRS View Post
I installed it and works fine.

I was wondering if there is a way to exclude specific forums?

Can you do that?
I don't understand... what means "exclude specific forums" ? If you don't want to block them, then just don't add them into a list...
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 20 Mar 2011, 15:00
DeathRS's Avatar
DeathRS DeathRS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I want to block in some of the forum some words and not in others...

Like the exclude the usergroups option...

I need exclude forums option...
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 20 Mar 2011, 15:55
LordOfWAR_PC LordOfWAR_PC is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by DeathRS View Post
I want to block in some of the forum some words and not in others...

Like the exclude the usergroups option...

I need exclude forums option...
Ah, I understand. Ok, I will think about this in next version.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 20 Mar 2011, 16:01
denman75 denman75 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Dennis
Originally Posted by LordOfWAR_PC View Post
Ah, I understand. Ok, I will think about this in next version.
is hoping on v2.0 cus i need that my admins can say everything in the admin sections
but i need restrictions on the open boards ,thank you and tagged! for future use
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 20 Mar 2011, 16:05
LordOfWAR_PC LordOfWAR_PC is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by denman75 View Post
is hoping on v2.0 cus i need that my admins can say everything in the admin sections
but i need restrictions on the open boards ,thank you and tagged! for future use
It is already possible to exclude admin usergroups and they will not be blocked everywhere... Or you want to block them in others sections ?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 26 Mar 2011, 06:03
harpreetxi harpreetxi is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
I did enabled it , No1 is in exception , i added word.com and word but still i can post thread with that word

Can you please check my forum ? i'll give u login in pm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: