Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Thread Thumbnails V4 *Upgraded* Details »
Thread Thumbnails V4 *Upgraded*
Mod Version: 4.0 Rev 1., by fxwoody (Member) fxwoody is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.4 Rating: (11 votes - 4.82 average) Installs: 88
Released: 03 Jun 2011 Last Update: 31 Jul 2011 Downloads: 731
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations  

Thread Thumbnails V4 Rev 1.1

Description of the main feature:

The Thread Thumbnails V4 plugin is an extra image that will be displayed onto the Forumdisplay Threadlist of specified Forums and subForums.
The user will either have the possibility to add manually or automatically (option setup) the image of is choice to be shown as a Thumbnail.

This mod was originally created by Null Parameter for 3.8 and 4.0, but, for several reasons and many hours of trying to make the mod stable and fully working in vB 4.1.x, i'ved reworked the script and put it in an easier approach.


Functions:

When submitting a New Thread or editing an existing Thread, you can select the option for:
  • User Entered URL
  • First Attachment
  • First Image In Post

When making a new post, the user will either have to input the URL for the thumbnail (User Entered URL option) or the thumbnail will be automatically displayed if the "FIRST" image or attachment option is selected.

To edit a thumbnail, if the "User Entered URL" is selected, a text box will be shown in the editor for them or staff to edit it.( I will try to add the editing option from the quickedit box in the future releases)

If other options are selected, the thumb will be automatically updated when the first image is replace, either from the post or the attachment.

Notes:
For the attachment editing, you will have to delete the first image and then reload it last for the plugin to work. The sequence of attachment doesn't get automatically changed when transferring attachment inside the vBulletin attachment options!
This is part of vBulletin, not the plugin.

For the first image in post option, you can edit directly from the quickeditor in order to replace the thumb.

What's new:

I'ved included an image folder with two thumbnail style for your board, you can easily select the one you need by replacing the name of the thumb in the ACP "Thread Thumbnails Options" from "No Thumbnail Replacement Image"

Thumbnail choice:
  • nothumb.jpg
  • nothumb1.jpg


Installation:

Upload the "thumbs" folder into: images->misc->
Import XML file from your ACP Manage Products

You will have to make some manual modifications in you forum's skin in order for the plugin to work well.

Every template mods are included in the Text file of the attachment.
Follow the instructions and you shouldn't have any problems.

Version:
v4.0
-------------
  • Support for vB4
  • Removed the Automatic Template Edits
  • Use Phrases
  • Option to make Thumbnails Required (fully upgraded)
  • Option to specify the CSS Style of thumbnail images
  • New Thumb images added
  • Thumb Editing upgraded
  • Megamoose PHP script included in folder

V4.0 Rev1.0 *Updated to 4.1.5*
V4.0 Rev1.1 Changed Selection option

Enjoy the plugin and don't forget to CLICK INSTALLED !

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	cover.jpg
Views:	819
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	129704   Click image for larger version

Name:	cover1.jpg
Views:	1955
Size:	68.3 KB
ID:	132225  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Display Enhancements Thread Thumbnails Null Parameter vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 296 03 Nov 2017 16:16

  #46  
Old 01 Oct 2011, 23:14
spencerp spencerp is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Originally Posted by fxwoody View Post
as long as you have an [img] tag, the link will be fetch automatically by the hack no mater where it comes from and that the link is alive
Oh okay, well I must have done something wrong or missed something then. When I went into forum display area, it looked like it was going to load some thumbnails, but then they vanished lol. Perhaps I was missing some template coding or the image paths weren't right... >_>
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 30 Oct 2011, 18:27
patrixon78 patrixon78 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Can anyone tell me where is the proper path for uploading this .php script and how can I run it? Or this .php script need to be uploaded only to some directory? I've managed the thumb's to work but I need to edit every single post to get this work. So I assumed that this .php script will do it automatically?

EDIT:
Nevermind I did like I've been thinking just uploaded the thumbupdater.php to root directory and I've ran the script.
Everything works great on 4.1.7 thanks

Last edited by patrixon78; 30 Oct 2011 at 18:39.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 31 Oct 2011, 07:48
Darksome Darksome is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I'm just wondering, is there anyway to have both first attachment and first image in post in use at the same time?

It would be great to not have nothumb.jpg shown at all if this was possible?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 31 Oct 2011, 10:34
fxwoody's Avatar
fxwoody fxwoody is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
It won't work using both darksome, i end up with conflicts all the time if they are both in the post.
It has to be one or the other.
But a frind of mine is trying something with the script about this
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 31 Oct 2011, 13:00
Darksome Darksome is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
That'd be great if it becomes a possibility!

Originally Posted by e3fnxs6p View Post
Currently, when "first image in post" (source2) is set, it won't display thumbnails from attachments. When "first attachment" (source1) is set, it won't display thumbnails from the first image. But often, you would like to have a combination of these options, instead of excluding each other.

You can solve this by doing this:
1) set the thumbnail source to "First Attachment".
2) go to plugin manager > "Forum Display - Threadbit Display" > find the line containing
$hook_query_fields .= ", MIN(attachment.attachmentid) AS attachmentid";
and append under that line, the following line:
$hook_query_fields .= ", thread.thumbnailurl AS thumbnailurl";

That's all.
I had tried this solution offered and it does work... to a degree.

I found if I set the option to first image in post and then opened and saved a thread with an [IMG] tag already in it, then changed the option back to first attachment. Thumbnails are shown for threads that have an attachment in them or a thread with an [IMG] tag.

Which is exactly what I'm after, but having to change options back 'n' forth and open and save every thread that has an [IMG] tag image in it, isn't ideal obviously!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 31 Oct 2011, 13:37
fxwoody's Avatar
fxwoody fxwoody is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
i tried it too and yes it's a problem!
I played a lot with "if then" "or else" etc etc and couldn't make it to get one or the other
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 28 Nov 2011, 01:10
davio33 davio33 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Doesn't work with imported rss feeds.

I have some imported feeds that have pictures, these pictures use the img code, but cant get the thumbnail to work.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12 Jan 2012, 06:22
james shadle's Avatar
james shadle james shadle is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by Darksome View Post
I'm just wondering, is there anyway to have both first attachment and first image in post in use at the same time?

It would be great to not have nothumb.jpg shown at all if this was possible?
That would be awesome.!!

Last edited by james shadle; 12 Jan 2012 at 06:23. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 12 Jan 2012, 22:36
downloadfound downloadfound is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Is there a way to use this mod with similar threads?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12 Feb 2012, 15:30
alhidaya alhidaya is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Hello,

It s ok for 4.1.1.0 ?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 09 Mar 2012, 15:28
talkgraphics talkgraphics is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I'm also wondering if this will be OK to install on our forum (v 4.1.10)?
Does anyone have any experience of this?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 15 Mar 2012, 03:08
kizy kizy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Originally Posted by talkgraphics View Post
I'm also wondering if this will be OK to install on our forum (v 4.1.10)?
Does anyone have any experience of this?
Yes, It's working perfect on my vb 4.1.10. Thank you much fxwoody.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 15 May 2012, 15:04
Tarek128 Tarek128 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I don't know why its not working with my 4.1.12 version ;(
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 29 May 2012, 12:02
Darksome Darksome is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
It works fine on our install of 4.1.10. Anybody know if it's working on 4.2 ?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 05 Jul 2012, 07:51
inigo inigo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Interested in the option to show:

First thumbnail OR first image

We hope any of the coders could help us, because I see we are a lot of people with the same question.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: