Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 19 Oct 2012, 21:36
Omegatron Omegatron is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
wrapping vb5 header footer style around a page.

I know this is pretty early since this is a beta but I have been disecting the code for vb5 some.

Do not see a way like we use to be able to wrap the vb header footer navbar around custom pages like we use to do with vb3 and vb4.

If this is truly the case I think this is going to put an end to alot of the vb mod forums.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20 Oct 2012, 20:09
Omegatron Omegatron is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Lots of views but anyone know if there is a way to full the header footer around a custom page?

I can grab the header template using the $templater but in vb3 and vb4 $header $footer where universally defined as the full vb header footer with all variables defined etc

--------------- Added 21 Oct 2012 at 16:21 ---------------

This use to be easy in vb3 and vb4 so you could write your own scripts and use the vb header footer.

$header $footer use to always resolve to the header footer of vb and then you just processed replacements.

This is ultra simplified but worked with vb3 and vb4


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

As I said simple but grabbing the vb header footer and processing replacements was easy including the global.php etc.

I have been looking at vb5 and see no way to do that

Last edited by Omegatron; 21 Oct 2012 at 16:21.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24 Oct 2012, 19:10
Omegatron Omegatron is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
The vb5 Page Manager seems to be a joke as you can only include data in those little container boxes so that does not work to wrap the vb header and footer around a full featured app/mod with multiple scripts in a directory.

I have successfully made a simple cloned test page with the vb header footer echoing nothing but hello in the middle.

Placing this in say a cloned vb index,php minus the $class defines and then renamed to test.php will print what I need.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The problem is generating the vb header and footer around an external application. vb5 stops you.

Any ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14 Dec 2012, 02:20
wdwms wdwms is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
My solution is a hybrid of the above; plus some symbolic links to get the file you create to run in the directory where you want it.

Instructions:
  1. For the purpose of these instructions / = docroot /test = directory where we are getting the headers to work
  2. copy /index.php (the vb index.php) to /test and rename to vbheader.php
  3. copy /index.php (the vb index.php) to /test and rename to vbfooter.php
  4. in vbfooter comment out the line:
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  5. in vbfooter and vheader comment out:
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  6. in vbfooter add the following at the bottom
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  7. in vbheader add the following at the bottom
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  8. soft link config.php, includes and core; in /test execute:
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  9. create /test/test.php as follows
    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

NOTE: Your menu bar at the top will ALWAYS remain as home. There is a work-around for this that have working, le me know if interested.

Last edited by wdwms; 23 Feb 2013 at 13:12.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17 Jan 2013, 22:35
Omegatron Omegatron is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Thats actually actually quite what I already did

http://omegatron.net/photos

Basically what I did was make a dumbed down index.php called say test.php and place the dumbed down code into a function I named. I could then return an array with header footer values and in my code simply call the require that file in my application and can load the vb header footer.

Likewise yes you have to softlink or place a modified copy of config.php in your other directory.

Definately note a user friendly as earlier versions and I think the vb5 sales will be reflected as a result.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Jan 2013, 01:26
wdwms wdwms is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
did you figure out how to get the sub nav menus to appear? mine will not generate on my custom pages..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23 Feb 2013, 13:00
wdwms wdwms is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Found issue with 5.0, instructions above modified.

Last edited by wdwms; 23 Feb 2013 at 13:12.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19 Jun 2014, 22:04
AScherff AScherff is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Alfred
This does not work for VB 5.1 ... ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Jun 2014, 17:57
wdwms wdwms is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Originally Posted by AScherff View Post
This does not work for VB 5.1 ... ?
Have not tested it with 5.1 yet. Once my board updates to 5.1 I will test and release any changes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Aqua Style 3.8.3 + Header Psd + Footer Psd rageedo vBulletin 3.8 Styles 19 17 Jul 2009 19:22



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: