Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 15 Sep 2013, 11:09
jdorsey jdorsey is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Wordpress Header & Footer Integation

Hello,
I'm trying to integrate vBulletin 5.0.x with Wordpress. Specifically, I'm trying to add the WordPress header and footer to show in vBulletin using Wordpress's functions get_header() and get_footer() that come from the file wp-blog-header.php in the WordPress installation folder. So I'm trying to figure out the following:

1) require the wp-blog-header.php file somewhere for vbulletin to use using require()
2) to figure out where to insert the php functions get_header() and get_footer()

I looked at this post: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=298770 and it gave some information on making an extension by adding a folder to the /core/packages folder and putting a class file there with a custom function that I could use in a template, but I couldn't find much information on how to create a product xml file. It seems important to do this because I can't register my extension in the Admin CP -> Products & Hooks -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product without it.

I'm don't need to create hooks or templates, and this product I'm creating doesn't need any custom html. Here's the code I wrote so far:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I added these lines to the /core/global.php file because I couldn't figure out where to put a php require statement:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So any help would be greatly appreciated - I couldn't find any docs on doing this after 6+ hours of searching.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15 Sep 2013, 11:33
marco_kellershoff's Avatar
marco_kellershoff marco_kellershoff is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Real name: marco
You don't need a product xml. All you need is an extension and a product. The extension will show up without a product.xml. Once it shows up you can add a product for that extension manually in the AdminCP.

The extension is basically a .php file inside the packages/yourextensionname/api/ directory.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Put this into packages/wpheaderfooter/api/options.php



Not tested, but should work.

Last edited by marco_kellershoff; 15 Sep 2013 at 11:43.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15 Sep 2013, 12:27
jdorsey jdorsey is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Thank you for such a quick reply! I got the extension successfully registered.

Is this how I run the function in a template?:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(not sure about the varname "wp") - I put this in but nothing shows up in the header template.

Also, do I need to register this as a product in the AdminCP import/add product page for this to work, or is just registering the extension good enough?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15 Sep 2013, 12:42
marco_kellershoff's Avatar
marco_kellershoff marco_kellershoff is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Real name: marco
I'm not familiar with wordpress, so I don't really know what wpHeader() is doing.

If it is just returning the header html like so:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

then you need to alter the extension's code a bit like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(now the function returns the value)

and then in your template you do something like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

the first line just assigns the data and the second ones echos it

--------------- Added 15 Sep 2013 at 12:54 ---------------

You might also want to read about this related topic here:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1...-a-text-string

Last edited by marco_kellershoff; 15 Sep 2013 at 12:53.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15 Sep 2013, 18:14
jdorsey jdorsey is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Ok, I feel like I'm so close, but missing something. Here is my new extension class file so far. I simplified it just to get it to work at all:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And here is my new template markup (using the header template), which I inserted around line 114 (shortly after the <body> opening tag):


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Also, you mentioned I need that I need to manually add the product. I did so in the AdminCP ->Products & Hooks -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product, Add Product section. Here I just gave the Product id text field the same name as $product variable I used in my class above: 'wpheaderfooter' .

I do have the options -> Products/Hook System enabled (set to yes).

However, I get no output. Thanks so much for your patience in helping me. Hopefully I'm just missing something simple.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15 Sep 2013, 21:28
marco_kellershoff's Avatar
marco_kellershoff marco_kellershoff is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Real name: marco
Just try to add a hook - then it should work
__________________
I'm a full time developer working for gofeminin.de and I love to share my thoughts with you.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16 Sep 2013, 01:29
jdorsey jdorsey is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Ok, I pulled my {vb:raw} code out of the header template and made a new template, "wp_header_footer" and put it in there:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Then I created a new hook.
  • product: "WP Header and Footer"
  • title: "WP Header Footer Hook"
  • hook location: header_toolbar
  • execution order: 10 (Default)
  • template name: "wp_header_footer"
  • hook arguments: left blank

The html I put in the template shows up (h2 and h1), but the {vb:raw wphead} does not.

The thing I am bit worried about is that when I created a new Product ("WP Header and Footer"), I didn't have any way I could see to link it to my wpHeaderFooter_Api_Options class listed in the extensions. Am I missing a step?

Last edited by jdorsey; 16 Sep 2013 at 01:35.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16 Sep 2013, 07:00
marco_kellershoff's Avatar
marco_kellershoff marco_kellershoff is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Real name: marco
If you can wait until tommorow, I'll write you a detailed, step by step guide, including (working) source code and screenshots.

It's just that today we have planned a relaunch of one of our mayor sites Don't have really time for this ATM.

But please, don't get angry or sad - I know the vBulletin software is lacking good docs, which is really sad - I fiddled around about 2 full 8h workdays to understand how the new extension system in vB5 works - it's a shame.

I'll come back to you tomorrow, k?

--------------- Added 16 Sep 2013 at 13:08 ---------------

Originally Posted by jdorsey View Post
Ok, I pulled my {vb:raw} code out of the header template and made a new template, "wp_header_footer" and put it in there:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Then I created a new hook.
  • product: "WP Header and Footer"
  • title: "WP Header Footer Hook"
  • hook location: header_toolbar
  • execution order: 10 (Default)
  • template name: "wp_header_footer"
  • hook arguments: left blank

The html I put in the template shows up (h2 and h1), but the {vb:raw wphead} does not.

The thing I am bit worried about is that when I created a new Product ("WP Header and Footer"), I didn't have any way I could see to link it to my wpHeaderFooter_Api_Options class listed in the extensions. Am I missing a step?



I'm really sorry for such misleading information ... must have been a lack of sleep & coffee on my side..


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

it has to be options, because you are simply extending the options api from vbulletin..
__________________
I'm a full time developer working for gofeminin.de and I love to share my thoughts with you.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16 Sep 2013, 14:25
jdorsey jdorsey is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
That worked! I replaced wpHeaderFooter_Api_Options with options, and it now works. Thanks so much! Hopefully the rest is just php stuff and not vbulletin related. I may post how I actually completed the whole thing in a little tutorial for posterity. And that would be great if you could post a little tutorial for how to make a hello world extension. If you're like me, I know you must be very busy though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02 Oct 2013, 00:15
moonclamp's Avatar
moonclamp moonclamp is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Real name: Paul
Just posting briefly as I'm interested in this too, and have far less php knowledge!

When I get this right, will it also add the wordpress top menu, or is that another problem to solve?

A tutorial would benefit me immensely, thank you.

Last edited by moonclamp; 02 Oct 2013 at 00:31.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01 Nov 2013, 10:32
moonclamp's Avatar
moonclamp moonclamp is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Real name: Paul
Just giving this a gentle bump
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05 Nov 2013, 14:44
bhalkum bhalkum is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
I would love to actually see this as something here on vbulletin.org.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08 Dec 2013, 12:30
heredia21 heredia21 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Any success?
__________________
BlackBerry Empire #1 BlackBerry news site and BlackBerry forum.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18 Dec 2013, 22:39
nezr's Avatar
nezr nezr is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I would love a tutorial please
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24 Jan 2014, 17:04
jessicajonnie jessicajonnie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
I would love one, too. I'm definitely missing something. =(
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:34.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: