Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
reCAPTCHA v2 Human Verification Details »
reCAPTCHA v2 Human Verification
Mod Version: 1.0.0, by kh99 (Senior Member) kh99 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (56 votes - 4.95 average) Installs: 372
Released: 11 Dec 2014 Last Update: 22 Feb 2015 Downloads: 1948
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

(Note: This mod was renamed. The original name was "New reCAPTCHA Human Verification")

What is it?
----------------------------
This mod adds reCAPTCHA v2 as an option in the Human Verification Manager.

Note: The original reCAPTCHA used default keys if you didn't enter your own, so you could leave the key fields blank. This version requires you to have your own keys for your domain. To create them, go to this page (click on the "Get reCAPTCHA" button). It may take a short time after creating the keys before they will work, so if you get "ERROR: Invalid domain for site key", wait a while and try again.

vb3 version is here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=315964

Installation:
----------------------------
1) Upload the file in the "upload" folder to your server.

2) Import the product XML file from the Product Manager.

3) If you don't already have keys, go to this page and create keys for your domain. (If you already have keys you can get them from that page as well).

4) Go to Settings > Human Verification Manager, select "New reCAPTCHA" for the Verification Library, and click Save.

5) Enter your keys on the options page, and select the light or dark widget as desired (apparently white and black are the only options at this time). You could select "Audio" to default to audio instead of image for the challenge, but the widget seems to have a bug in it at the moment so I recommend leaving it set to "image". Click Save when you're done selecting options.

6) You can check the configuration and do a test by clicking on "Click here to test connection" which appears under the description in the Human Verification Manager.

7) Do a test registration (or other action that requires hv) to test that your keys are entered correctly and everything is working.

8) If you are upgrading from version 0.9, you can remove the file includes/class_humanverify_newrecaptcha.php (the one without the third underscore) from your server.

History:
----------------------------
1.0 (Feb 22, 2015)
  • Cached template (required renaming the uploaded file from
    class_humanverify_newrecaptcha.php to class_humanverify_new_recaptcha.php)
  • Removed default keys (which didn't work anyway)
  • Removed trademark symbols
  • Changed execution order of plugins from 5 to 4, to make sure this product
    works with another HV add-on that has a bug.
  • If "New reCAPTCHA" is selected when this mod is uninstalled, the hv library
    is switched to 'disabled'.
  • Added a test option to print out more information about verification failures

0.9 (Dec 11, 2014)
  • Initial Release

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sg2.jpg
Views:	1958
Size:	99.3 KB
ID:	151269   Click image for larger version

Name:	sg1.png
Views:	1055
Size:	50.2 KB
ID:	151936  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 26 Dec 2014, 23:05
CharlieDelta CharlieDelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
So far this has resulted in 0 spam registrations since installing. Works great!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 27 Dec 2014, 01:03
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by CharlieDelta View Post
So far this has resulted in 0 spam registrations since installing. Works great!
Do you have any other spam blocking stuff installed, like another mod, questions etc?
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 27 Dec 2014, 07:22
Gadget_Guy Gadget_Guy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
It's working great on my site too.

Nothing else installed and I haven't had a spammer since putting it in.

I know it is just a matter of time before it is compromised like it has in the past, but so far so good.

D.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 27 Dec 2014, 15:28
CharlieDelta CharlieDelta is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Do you have any other spam blocking stuff installed, like another mod, questions etc?
I have spam o matic installed and was using my own question and answer and was having at least 2 spam registrations every day. I installed this mod and dropped my Q&A and my registrations have been zero since.
I hope it is a very long time before it gets compromised.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 27 Dec 2014, 15:34
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
So you did not test it with SOM disabled then?
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 27 Dec 2014, 23:28
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Even with this installed, I'm afraid bots still can go through. I figured seeing it's google, it would make it more difficult for the bots to register. But bots can be programmed, I Just saw a spambot post today on my forums.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 28 Dec 2014, 02:35
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
And that was with this installed? What other forms of spam protection are you using?
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 28 Dec 2014, 09:59
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
And that was with this installed? What other forms of spam protection are you using?
The only other thing I have installed is the vsa forum rules (to accept the rules at the registration page) and the coppa age setting.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 28 Dec 2014, 10:55
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
It's possible they were human spammers.

I would suggest reading this, and using the mods suggested as well, The era of Big Spam is over
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 30 Dec 2014, 11:20
THG THG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
This works on VB5?
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 30 Dec 2014, 11:52
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
No this will not work in vB5, and i doubt you could make it work in vB5 at all.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 30 Dec 2014, 14:44
ramesh_umk3's Avatar
ramesh_umk3 ramesh_umk3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
strange this mod is not working on my board .. When i try to select new captcha it doesn't show up any Verification Options..

this mod doesnt works with vBulletin 4.2.2 Patch Level 1?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 30 Dec 2014, 14:47
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by ramesh_umk3 View Post
strange this mod is not working on my board .. When i try to select new captcha it doesn't show up any Verification Options..

this mod doesnt works with vBulletin 4.2.2 Patch Level 1?
When you say " it doesn't show up any Verification Options" what do you mean exactly, is the area at the bottom blank?

Did you select the "new recaptcha" radio button, and then press "Save"? The options won't show up until you press save (I think that detail was left out of the original instructions, and maybe the readme).

If you did, then I'm not sure what's wrong, but it definitely does work with vb4.2.2 patch level 1, because that's what I happened to have installed as a test forum when I created this mod.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 30 Dec 2014, 18:16
ramesh_umk3's Avatar
ramesh_umk3 ramesh_umk3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Yep option were we enter api key block is missing whatever i do it doesn't show up.

But just for checking when i select reCAPTCHA i see API KEY Options good without any problem but not for NEW reCAPTCHA
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (51.5 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 30 Dec 2014, 18:59
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
I see you have a couple of other add-on hv types (funcaptcha and keycaptcha). Can you try disabling those products and see if it makes any difference?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:35.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: