Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Message Icons for Only Admins or Mods Details »
Message Icons for Only Admins or Mods
Mod Version: 1.00, by amykhar (Member) amykhar is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.2.x Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 7
Released: 07 Feb 2003 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1
Not Supported  

This little hack will allow you to reserve a posting icon for only admins or mods to use. For example, I reserve a tiny flame for admins and mods to mark borderline threads.


It's a 5 second hack, but quite useful.

A screenshot won't do much good for this one. Neither will an example.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 07 Feb 2003, 22:42
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
If the mood strikes, I might create a control panel interface to set the icons to modonly. However, as I only have 1 icon reserved I have no real need for this interface.
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07 Feb 2003, 23:32
Derek Derek is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
How about a screenshot? Do you mean with the icons that users have when posting new threads?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07 Feb 2003, 23:55
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
Not sure a screenshot will help much, but here ya go.

Yes, these are the posting or message icons. Not smilies.
Attached Images
File Type: gif flame.gif (28.9 KB, 215 views)
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 11:44
empreur76 empreur76 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
hello

but where i change modonly to 1 !??

thx
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 13:42
Roody Roody is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
So let me see if I understand you correctly. This hack basically gives us icons that we can use as Admin/Mods that wouldnt be available to anyone else?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 14:54
Chris M's Avatar
Chris M Chris M is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Chris Murphy, BSc
Post ...

@Roody - Yes - I believe that is so

Satan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 15:23
Roody Roody is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Thanks Hellsatan, just wanted to be sure.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 16:00
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
Originally posted by empreur76
hello

but where i change modonly to 1 !??

thx
The easiest way is to use phpMyadmin. The query would be UPDATE icon set modonly=1 where iconid=x;

x, of course is the icon that you want to reserve for admins and mods.

Amy
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 16:30
empreur76 empreur76 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
scuse me but i don't understand !

i put this via phpmyadmin:
ALTER TABLE `vbulletin`.`icon` ADD `modonly` TINYINT NOT NULL

make the change in function.php !
but after when i'm going in my control panel ( modify icon ) i don't see modonly !?
help
thx
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 16:48
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
It's not in the control panel. You have to do it via phpmyadmin.
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 19:37
Chris M's Avatar
Chris M Chris M is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Chris Murphy, BSc
@amykhar - You might want to change the query to run to:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.




You may also consider creating some Control Panel "radio checkbox" option to make it easier to change

Satan
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 19:41
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
OOPS. Thanks for the catch on the query I wasn't paying attention when I copied and pasted.

With regards to the control panel, I mentioned above that I might do it in the future. However, it's a trivial thing for me to update it in phpmyadmin and it's not a setting I change often at all.

Amy
__________________
amykhar.com
----------------------------------------
I do not respond to PM requests for coding assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 20:02
Chris M's Avatar
Chris M Chris M is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Chris Murphy, BSc
I suppose

Its just a nice little addon

Satan
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08 Feb 2003, 20:12
empreur76 empreur76 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
ok i make the query but after how i change the icon !
after it's the same for me ( admin or user) i see the same icon

do i have to rename a icon in modonly !?

i really don't understand !!
very thanx for your help
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: