Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Panic Button 1.01 Details »
Panic Button 1.01
Mod Version: 1.01, by yinyang (Member) yinyang is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.0 Beta 3 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 22
Released: 07 Jul 2005 Last Update: 11 Jul 2005 Downloads: 55
Not Supported Template Edits  

This is a Panic Button (Should work in IE and FF) in case a member is worried about being on your site at a particular time, for example, at work. The button is defaulted to stay glued to the lower right hand corner, but this can be changed in the CSS settings stated below.

Inspired by dsboyce8624's Boss Button problems he was having, I tried to first use a simple "floating menu" script. However, all the scripts i could find were only written for dhtml. That just doesn't work in vB (i tried many versions)... I'm not sure why, but i think it is because vB is XHTML.

I am NOT a coder. I am more of a reverse engineer when it comes to this stuff.

Anyhow, I came across the website of Dean Edwards: http://dean.edwards.name/. In his welcoming paragraph he writes, "This site exists so that I can perform tests on web tools that Iím currently building. This work is open source and is available for download. In other words, Iím always messing about with this site but you can rip-off any code you want. You can alleviate any associated guilt by making a donation."

Well, he has a pretty interesting script called "IE7" that I have no idea how it works. However, it can be found here (and a portion is renamed and included in the zip file): http://dean.edwards.name/IE7/

The rest is history. This works on my test site and I attach it herewith. Oh, since I only tinkered with this thing, I'd like to share the credit and copyright with dsboyce8624, whoever he shares his credit with, and especially Dean Edwards.

The image I use is can obviously be substituted with anything else you like. Just be sure to name your image "panicbutton.gif".

This may be copied, reproduced or published anywhere without my permission. I'll do my best to support this.

DEMO - My Test Board, please do not register.

Details
-------
2 Files to upload (1 Javascript File and 1 Panic Button image)
2 New Profile Field entries (Remember the Field ID# !!)
1 New CSS definition
1 Template Edit


Thanks for reading,
YinYang

BTW, you can move the placement of the image anywhere on the screen by editing the .panicbutton CSS .


v1.01 - Update 070805
----------
1. Panic Button may not work if you have Custom Error Pages hack installed. No clue why.


v1.01 - Update 070505
----------
1. changed out the original button with dsboyce8624's cooler button.
2. changed the placement of the script from Footer to Header
3. added a user choice "On/Off" conditional which is a template conditional and controlled via another Profile Field.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	pb1.gif
Views:	1192
Size:	66.6 KB
ID:	31739   Click image for larger version

Name:	pb2.gif
Views:	967
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	31740  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
End-User Options Panic Button Mosh vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 65 09 Jan 2009 03:40
End-User Options Panic Button Mosh vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 70 03 Sep 2008 05:20
End-User Options Panic Button (TMS compatible) Mosh Modification Graveyard 29 02 Jun 2008 04:02
Panic Button 1.0.1 dsboyce8624 vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 65 12 Jul 2007 18:24

Comments
  #2  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 09:13
kall's Avatar
kall kall is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Ace
This may be copied, reproduced or published anywhere without my permission.
That's very nice of you!
__________________
vBulletin Styles (All styles compatible with 3.8.4 - Steel Blue 4.0 Available) | vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 09:17
yinyang's Avatar
yinyang yinyang is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by kall
That's very nice of you!
Yup! I figure since i didn't actually create any real coding here (all the heavy lifting was done by Dean Edwards), I shouldn't be possessive about it. :classic:

Besides, if Dean made it free-for-all, then it only makes sense I should.

oh yeah, this is my first hack, albeit mini. woot!

Last edited by yinyang; 07 Jul 2005 at 09:25.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 14:39
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
Now we just need the conditional to make it a user option and it's what I was doing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 14:46
Biker_GA Biker_GA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
So what does thing thing do?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 15:19
jesus likes pie's Avatar
jesus likes pie jesus likes pie is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
i dont get what this thing does....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 18:00
StarBuG's Avatar
StarBuG StarBuG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
I also have no clue what this extension does.

You also violate a copyright if you use the microsoft office help image
I would advice against using this graphic

StarBuG
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 18:43
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
It puts a floating button on the page, you can hit it to open a new site if your boos comes over to your desk.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 18:45
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
Originally Posted by StarBuG
I would advice against using this graphic
You can use the button from my zip if you want.

And let me know when you add the conditional based on a second user field.

Some users don't want to use it.

Last edited by dsboyce8624; 07 Jul 2005 at 18:53.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 18:52
Biker_GA Biker_GA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Originally Posted by dsboyce8624
It puts a floating button on the page, you can hit it to open a new site if your boos comes over to your desk.
Who sets the URL? User or Admin? I can see some awesome possibilities with this (like setting the panic button to playboy.com). **GRIN**
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 18:53
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
Originally Posted by Biker_GA
Who sets the URL? User or Admin? I can see some awesome possibilities with this (like setting the panic button to playboy.com). **GRIN**
The field you add is for the user to fill in the url.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 18:54
Biker_GA Biker_GA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Drat! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 19:58
yinyang's Avatar
yinyang yinyang is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Arrow

Originally Posted by Biker_GA
Drat! LOL
the URL defaults to whatever you set. but you can disable it (i.e. not add the Profile Part) and point it to any URL you want. I've seen some point it to a fake Excel spreadsheet, etc. or a dummy html page you set up.

Originally Posted by dsboyce8624
You can use the button from my zip if you want.

And let me know when you add the conditional based on a second user field.

Some users don't want to use it.
Thanks.

1. I've gone ahead and changed out the button and added yours.
2. I've changed the placement of the script from Footer to Header
3. I've also added the On/Off conditional which is a template conditional and controlled via another Profile Field.

In the ACP, go to User Profile Fields > Add New User Profile Field

Profile Field Type: Single-Selection Radio Buttons
Title: Turn "Panic Button" on?
Description: The Panic Button is an icon that resides in a fixed place of your choosing on your screen on your screen. Clicking the icon immediately sends you to another URL of your choice.
Options: Yes (carriage-return)
No
Set default: Yes (thus Panic Button is automatically "on" until the user changes the option to "no")
Display Order: (Fills in automatically)
Field Required: Yes
Filed Editable by User: Yes
Private Field: Yes
Field Searchable on Members list: No
Show on Members List: No

Don't touch anything else and save.
!! Remember the field ID number. In my example, the field number is 6 !!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 21:29
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Dennis
Okay, I'm not sure why, but when I put the piece in the header it open the page the first time, then goes 404 error over and over.

Continuous refresh. Of course I have so much crap it could just be placement.

Tried it in headinclude and same result.

Last edited by dsboyce8624; 07 Jul 2005 at 21:32.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07 Jul 2005, 21:53
yinyang's Avatar
yinyang yinyang is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by dsboyce8624
Okay, I'm not sure why, but when I put the piece in the header it open the page the first time, then goes 404 error over and over.

Continuous refresh. Of course I have so much crap it could just be placement.

Tried it in headinclude and same result.
well that sucks. try in the footer.

also, try checking in FireFox. for some reason, it works better in firefox as dean edwards is a firefox fanatic.

I put up a test board on my server. You can demo it here. Please don't register. Thanks.

Last edited by yinyang; 08 Jul 2005 at 00:14.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: